Groups and Schedule Set for 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield
Share Article

Groups and Schedule Set for 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield

Published on / Updated on at

The third edition of the competition will be the biggest ever, featuring 15 clubs from 15 Caribbean Member Associations

Miami, FL – Concacaf conducted the official draw for the 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield, at the Concacaf Headquarters in Miami, FL.

The 15 participating Caribbean clubs have been divided into four groups and will play as follows:

Group A
A1: SV Vesta (CUW)
A2: Barbados Defence Force Sports Programme (BRB)
A3: Club Franciscain (MTQ)
A4: South East FC (DMA)

Group B
​​​​​​B1: SV Inter Moengo Tapoe (SUR)
B2: Metropolitan Football Academy (PUR)
B3: FC Santiago de Cuba (CUB)
B4: Scholars International SC (CAY)

Group C
C1: One Love United FC (VGB)
C2: Liberta Blackhawks SC (ATG)
C3: SV Racing Club Aruba (ARU)
C4: Amical Club D’Etang Noir (GLP)

Group D
D1: BESCO Pastures FC (VIN)
D2: SV Real Rincon (BOE)
D3: Platinum FC (LCA)

The 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield will kick off with a group stage. After round-robin play between April 3-7, the first-place finishers of each group will advance to the semifinals. The semifinal will be played on Friday, April 10. The third-place match and final are set for April 12.

The complete 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield schedule is available here.

The winner of the 2020 Concacaf Caribbean Shield, provided it fulfills the Concacaf Regional Club Licensing criteria, will have the opportunity to face the fourth-place finisher of the 2020 Flow Concacaf Caribbean Club Championship in a playoff match. The winner of the playoff match will be the fourth Caribbean representative in the 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf League.

The Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield, launched in 2018, is part of an expanded Concacaf Club Competitions program and features clubs from Caribbean countries whom are working with Concacaf towards a long-term vision to professionalize the club game across the region.

In the past two editions of the tournament, Club Franciscain from Martinique (2018) and SV Robinhood from Suriname (2019) were crowned champions. Both clubs continued their amazing performances by winning their respective playoff matches to secure a spot in the 2018 and 2019 Scotiabank Concacaf League, respectively.

Read this next