LD Alajuelense
LD Alajuelense

Team Profile

Official Name

LD Alajuelense

Alajuelense are two-time winners of the Champions Cup, winning the crown in 1986 and 2004.

Alajuelense have qualified for the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup as the champion of the 2023 Concacaf Central American Cup and will begin the tournament in the Round of 16. Alajuelense were Champions Cup winners in 1986 and 2004 and return to the Champions Cup for a 27th occasion and second straight after featuring in the 2023 edition.

Alajuelense’s Champions Cup debut came in the inaugural tournament in 1962 and overall, the club boast a record of 70W-25D-45L, while outscoring opponents 244-157. Jonathan McDonald (6 goals) is the team’s all-time scoring leader, while Johnny Acosta (24 games) is the all-time appearances leader.