United States
United States


Team Profile

Official Name

United States

The 2022 Concacaf W Championship begins on July 4 in Monterrey, Mexico with eight teams hoping to be one of three sides that qualify for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia/New Zealand and the winner also advancing to the 2024 Paris Olympics.

When it comes to the CWC, there is no team more decorated than the United States.

The four-time Women’s World Cup champions will be making their 10th CWC appearance in Monterrey and emerged as champions in eight of the previous nine editions of the tournament, including the last two CWCs.

Only a Third-Place finish at Mexico 2010 stands as the only time when the U.S. did not take home the top prize. That year’s tournament also serves as the only time that the U.S. tasted defeat, losing 2-1 to Mexico in the semifinals.

Overall, the U.S. boast an all-time record of 37W-1D-1L in the CWC, while outscoring opponents 219-6.

In the 39 matches that the U.S. have played in the CWC, they have managed to score in 38 of them and have registered a clean sheet in 34 of those contests.

There has been no shortage of top goalscorers who have fueled the U.S. success in the CWC. Abby Wambach ranks as the country’s top scorer in CWCs with 17 goals, followed closely by Carin Jennings (12) and Kristine Lilly, Michelle Akers and Tiffeny Milbrett with 11 goals and the recently retired Carli Lloyd with 10.

The U.S. have participated in eight Women’s World Cups, winning four, at China 1991, USA 1999, Canada 2015 and France 2019.