Costa Rica
Costa Rica

Team Profile

Official Name

Costa Rica

MIAMI, Florida – The 2022 Concacaf W Championship begins on July 4 in Monterrey, Mexico with eight teams hoping to be one of three sides that qualify for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia/New Zealand and the winner also advancing to the 2024 Paris Olympics.

The Costa Rican Women’s National Team is going to Monterrey with one thing in mind: Getting to their second FIFA Women’s World Cup.

La Sele will be making their eighth appearance at the CWC, having played at Haiti 1991, Canada 1998, USA 2000, Canada/United States 2002, Mexico 2010, USA 2014 and USA 2018.

They have proven themselves to the world many times before, earning the runner-up position at USA 2014, in which they secured their ticket to the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup played in Canada. Costa Rica has also finished as high as third place at Canada 1998 and fourth place twice, at Canada/United States 2002 and Mexico 2010.

In this edition of the Qualification Stage for the CWC, they crowned themselves with the first place position in Group B with a 4W-0D-0L record. Raquel Rodriguez was the protagonist of the Qualification Stage with six goals, Priscila Chinchilla was right behind her with four goals, while Carolina Venegas, Katherine Alvarado, Mariana Benavides had two goals each.

In 29 CWC matches, Costa Rica has an overall record of 12W-2D-15L, with 46 goals scored and 74 goals against.

Costa Rica has some big names when it comes to their all-time top scorers in the CWC. Rodriguez leads with five goals, followed by Venegas with four goals and Shirley Cruz with three goals.

Costa Rica have participated in one FIFA Women’s World Cup, playing three games at the Group Stage, at Canada 2015, finishing with a mark of 0W-2D-1L.