Team Profile

Official Name


The 2022 Concacaf W Championship begins on July 4 in Monterrey, Mexico with eight teams hoping to be one of three sides that qualify for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia/New Zealand and the winner also advancing to the 2024 Paris Olympics.

Determined to prove why they deserve to get a hold of a ticket that will help them become part of Women’s World Cup history, the Panama Women’s National Team is ready to play.

Panama will be making their fourth appearance at the Concacaf W Championship in Monterrey, having played at Canada/United States 2002, USA 2006 and USA 2018.

A fourth-place finish in 2018 is the best result this team has achieved in all their participations at the CWC, having an overall record of 9W-3D-5L, with 12 goals scored and 32 conceded in nine CWC matches played.

The historic performance at USA 2018 was a team effort, recognized by Concacaf, as Yenith Bailey was named the Golden Glove of that year's Championship. Amarelis De Mera and Lineth Cedeno are also part of team history at the CWC, as the top scorers on this team, with three and two goals, respectively.

In the Qualification Stage for the CWC, Panama was the winner of Group D, with a 4W-0D-0L record. Laurie Batista and Karla Riley were the top scorers for the team with four goals each, closely followed by Cedeno with three goals and Marta Cox, Natalia Mills, Yerenis De Leon and Yomira Pinzon, with two goals each. Bailey was also present at this stage, serving as an important piece in goal for Panama’s qualification to the CWC.

Panama is looking to get their first ticket to a major tournament, as they have never been a participant at the FIFA Women’s World Cup.