Draw delivers groups for 2021 Concacaf W Qualifiers
Latest News

Draw delivers groups for 2021 Concacaf W Qualifiers

Published on
  • Road to a revamped 2022 Concacaf W Championship is now in place for the 30 participating women’s national teams. 
  • Group winners to advance for an opportunity to qualify for the 2023 FIFA WWC, 2024 Olympics and 2024 W Gold Cup. 

Miami, FL (Saturday, August 21, 2021) – Concacaf today conducted the draw for the 2021 Concacaf W Qualifiers. The draw event was hosted by former Canadian Women’s National team player and Olympic bronze medalist Kaylyn Kyle and Concacaf Head of Women’s Football Karina LeBlanc. 

Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio, former Jamaica international Tashana Vincent and former Guatemala U-17 and U-20 international Lauren Markwith participated in the live event. 

The new Concacaf W Qualifiers are scheduled to take place during the FIFA Women’s Match Windows of November 2021 and April 2022 and will serve as the preliminary round of the 2022 Concacaf W Championship.

The 30 Concacaf Member Associations participating, all ranked 3 and below in the FIFA Women’s Ranking as of July 2021, have been divided into six groups of five teams each as follows: 

Group A: Mexico, Puerto Rico, Suriname, Antigua and Barbuda and Anguilla
Group B: Costa Rica, Guatemala, Saint Kitts and Nevis, US Virgin Islands, and Curacao
Group C: Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Bermuda, Grenada and Cayman Islands
Group D: Panama, El Salvador, Barbados, Belize and Aruba
Group E: Haiti, Cuba, Honduras, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and British Virgin Islands
Group F: Trinidad & Tobago, Guyana, Nicaragua, Dominica and Turks and Caicos Islands

After group stage play, where each nation will play two matches at home and two matches away, the top finisher in each of the groups will advance to the Concacaf W Championship, joining the top two ranked Concacaf nations (USA and Canada) who have received a bye straight to the W Championship.

The schedule for the 2021 Concacaf W Qualifiers is as follows (home nation listed first):

ConcacafW Qualifiers November 2021 Schedule

ConcacafW Qualifier April 2022 Schedule

As announced by Concacaf on Thursday, August 19, the revamped 2022 Concacaf W Championship is one of the two new major women’s summer competitions taking place from 2021 through 2024. This important tournament will serve as the Confederation’s Qualifier to the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023 and the 2024 Paris Summer Olympic Games.

In total, eight teams will participate in the 2022 Concacaf W Championship, including the USA and Canada, and the six Concacaf W Qualifiers group winners. After Group Stage play, the top two finishers in each group will qualify for the competition’s semifinals and guarantee their place in the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023. 

Additionally, both Group Stage third place finishers will advance to a FIFA Women’s World Cup intercontinental play-off. At the conclusion of the event, the winning nation will guarantee its place in the 2024 Paris Summer Olympic Games Women’s Football Tournament and the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup. 

The runner-up and the third place will also progress to a Concacaf Olympic play-in to be played in September of 2023. The winner of the play-in will also guarantee their place in the 2024 Paris Summer Olympic Games and the 2024 W Gold Cup.

More information on Concacaf’s new senior women’s national team calendar, including the revamped W Championship and new W Gold Cup, is available here.