2024 Concacaf Champions Cup: All You Need to Know
Latest News

2024 Concacaf Champions Cup: All You Need to Know

Published on

MIAMI, Florida – A new era has begun in the Concacaf region with the inception of the Concacaf Champions Cup, an expanded version of the region’s new premier club championship set to kick off in 2024.

Here is everything you need to know about the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup:


Beginning with the 2024 edition, the Concacaf Champions Cup will replace the Champions League as the premier men’s continental tournament which crowns the club champion of the region and provides the qualification route to the new and expanded FIFA Club World Cup.

The name “Concacaf Champions Cup”, which is part of a full rebrand with a vibrant and modern visual identity, is inspired by this tournament’s rich history. The brand essence is "epic battles for greatness", which symbolizes how difficult this competition is to qualify for, to compete in, and to win to be crowned Concacaf club champion. Since 1962, when the first iteration of this tournament was formed, 30 different clubs have won this title, which highlights how competitive it is and the great diversity of champions we have had in Concacaf.

The original continental club competition in Concacaf had the same name and through its 61 year heritage (1962-2008: Concacaf Champions Cup; 2008-2023 Concacaf Champions League; 2024 onwards: Concacaf Champions Cup), there have been 30 different winners of this tournament, from Club Leon last Sunday, back through a list of major clubs from Central America, North America, and the Caribbean.


The Concacaf Champions Cup will continue to be played in a direct elimination knockout stage format and will be composed of five rounds: Round One, Round of 16, Quarterfinals, Semifinals, and Final. 

The first four stages will each include home and away play, while the Final, where the region’s Champion will be crowned, will be played as a single-leg match on a weekend date. 

Of the 27 clubs that will participate, 22 will begin play in Round One and five will receive a bye to the Round of 16. The qualification process for the clubs will be divided per region (further details in the video) 

Furthermore, the Scotiabank Concacaf League will be replaced by three regional cup competitions – Leagues Cup, Central American Cup, and Caribbean Cup, that will be played in the fall of each year. These three new cups will qualify clubs for the expanded Champions League. 

Financial distributions and prize money

In addition to expanding the competition format, and re-naming and rebranding the tournament, Concacaf will significantly increase the financial distributions and prize money for participating clubs in the Concacaf Champions Cup.

In each edition, starting in 2024, the Concacaf Champions Cup champion will receive USD $5m+ in financial distributions and prize money, an increase of more than five times compared with the Concacaf Champions League era.

Qualified teams thus far

Review the full list of qualified teams here.

Qualification for FIFA Club World Cup

The winner of the 2024 Concacaf Champions Cup qualifies for the 2025 FIFA Club World Cup as one of four representatives from the region. The Champions League winners from 2021 (Monterrey), 2022 (Seattle Sounders) and 2023 (Club Leon) will also participate in the 2025 FIFA Club World Cup.


1962: Chivas (MEX)

1963: Racing Haitien (HAI)

1967: Alianza FC (SLV)

1968: Toluca (MEX)

1969: Cruz Azul (MEX)

1970: Cruz Azul (MEX)

1971: Cruz Azul (MEX)

1972: Olimpia (HON)

1973: SV Transvaal (SUR)

1974: Municipal (GUA)

1975: Atletico Español (MEX)

1976: Aguila (SLV)

1977: Club America (MEX)

1978: Comunicaciones (GUA), Defence Force (TRI), Leones Negros (MEX)

1979: FAS (SLV)

1980: Pumas (MEX)

1981: SV Transvaal (SUR)

1982: Pumas (MEX)

1983: Atlante (MEX)

1984: Violette AC (HAI)

1985: Defence Force (TRI)

1986: Alajuelense (CRC)

1987: Club America (MEX)

1988: Olimpia (HON)

1989: Pumas (MEX)

1990: Club America (MEX)

1991: Puebla (MEX)

1992: Club America (MEX)

1993: Saprissa (CRC)

1994: Cartagines (CRC)

1995: Saprissa (CRC)

1996: Cruz Azul (MEX)

1997: Cruz Azul (MEX)

1998: DC United (USA)

1999: Necaxa (MEX)

2000: Los Angeles Galaxy (USA)

2002: Pachuca (MEX)

2003: Toluca (MEX)

2004: Alajuelense (CRC)

2005: Saprissa (CRC)

2006: Club America (MEX)

2007: Pachuca (MEX)

2008: Pachuca (MEX)

2008-09: Atlante (MEX)

2009-10: CF Pachuca (MEX)

2010-11: Monterrey (MEX)

2011-12: Monterrey (MEX)

2012-13: Monterrey (MEX)

2013-14: Cruz Azul (MEX)

2014-15: Club America (MEX)

2015-16: Club America (MEX)

2016-17: CF Pachuca (MEX)

2018: Chivas (MEX)

2019: Monterrey (MEX)

2020: Tigres UANL (MEX)

2021: Monterrey (MEX)

2022: Seattle Sounders FC (USA)

2023: Club Leon (MEX)