2022 Concacaf W Championship Team Profile: Mexico
Latest News

2022 Concacaf W Championship Team Profile: Mexico

Published on

MIAMI, Florida – The 2022 Concacaf W Championship begins on July 4 in Monterrey, Mexico with eight teams hoping to be one of three sides that qualify for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia/New Zealand and the winner also advancing to the 2024 Paris Olympics.

There is no better place to try to make a return to the World Cup than on home soil.

The Mexican Women’s National Team will be making their 10th appearance in the CWC, and are hosting the championship for a second time. They qualified for the 2022 CWC as winners of Group A with a record of 4W-0D-0L.

Katty Martínez was the top scorer with six goals, followed by Alicia Cervantes with five, Stephany Mayor with four and Diana Ordonez and Maricarmen Reyes with three goals each completed the list.

The best results Mexico have achieved in the CWC were as runners-up at Canada 1998 and Mexico 2010. They also finished in third place at Canada 1994, Canada/United States 2002, USA 2006 and USA 2014.

Overall, Mexico have a record of 18W-2D-16L in the CWC, scoring 94 goals and conceding 80.

While in the last tournament Mexico was not able to advance to the latter stages, some big names have made their way to the top historical goal scorers list. Maribel Domiguez, Charlyn Corral and Stephany Mayor share first place, with six goals each. Monica Ocampo, the current coach of the team, also appears on the list with three goals to her name.

Mexico have participated in three different editions of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, at US 1999, Germany 2011 and Canada 2015.