For more than 20 years, CONCACAF has conducted championships for women’s national teams that have utilized various labels, formats and structures.  Most, but not all, of those events have doubled as qualifying tournaments for the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

From 1991-1998, the competition was known as the CONCACAF Women’s Championship.  It was renamed the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup for events played during the 2000-2006 time period.

After the 2002 edition, the tournament was adjusted to be played once every four years in the year prior to the FIFA Women's World Cup.

In 2010, the competition was called CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifying rather than the CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup.

Prior to the 2014 edition, a decision was taken later to revert back to the original title and the event is once again known as the CONCACAF Women’s Championship.

In the eight previous CONCACAF women’s competitions, the United States has earned a record six titles, while Canada has lifted the trophy on two occasions.

The 2014 CONCACAF Women’s Championship will decide the region’s representatives to the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup.  The two finalists and the winner of the match for third place will earn automatic berths in the 24-team field, while the fourth-place finisher will face Ecuador for an additional spot.

As host of the next World Cup, Canada will not participate in the Confederation tournament. 

Hosts, Champions & World Cup Qualifiers
(all World Cup Qualifying competitions unless noted otherwise)

1991 (CONCACAF Women’s Championship)
Host: HaitiChampion: United StatesWorld Cup Qualifiers: United States

1993 (CONCACAF Women’s Championship)^
Host: United StatesChampion: United States

1994 (CONCACAF Women’s Championship)
Host: CanadaChampion: United StatesWorld Cup Qualifiers: Canada, United States

1998 (CONCACAF Women’s Championship)
Host: CanadaChampion: CanadaWorld Cup Qualifiers*: Canada, Mexico, “United States

2000 (CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup)^
Host: United StatesChampion: United States

2002 (CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup)
Host: United States, CanadaChampion: United StatesWorld Cup Qualifiers: Canada, United States

2006 (CONCACAF Women’s Gold Cup)
Host: United StatesChampion: United StatesWorld Cup Qualifiers**: Canada, United States

2010 (CONCACAF Women’s World Cup Qualifying)
Host: MexicoChampion: CanadaWorld Cup Qualifiers***: Canada, Mexico, United States

Non-World Cup Qualifying competition
“ United States participated in 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup as host, did not play in CONCACAF tournament
Mexico qualified for the 1999 FIFA Women’s World Cup after defeating Argentina in a playoff, 6-3 on aggregate
** Mexico advanced to a playoff against Japan for a berth in the 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup, losing 3-2 on aggregate
*** United States qualified for the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup after defeating Italy in a playoff, 2-0 on aggregate