Concacaf announces full schedule for 2022 Concacaf W Championship
Latest News

Concacaf announces full schedule for 2022 Concacaf W Championship

Published on
  • Opening matches featuring USA vs Haiti and Mexico vs Jamaica scheduled for July 4 at Estadio Universitario; Final to be hosted by Estadio BBVA on July 18  
  • Semifinalists will qualify directly for 2023 FWWC; Champion will also claim berth for Paris 2024 Summer Olympics 

Miami, FL - Concacaf has announced the full schedule for the 2022 Concacaf W Championship (CWC). The summer competition, which will serve as the region’s final round of qualifying for the FIFA Women's World Cup Australia and New Zealand 2023 (FWWC) and as a qualifier to the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics, is scheduled to be played in Monterrey, Mexico, between July 4-18, 2022. 

This revamped CWC is a key part of the Confederation's new women's senior national team ecosystem taking place from 2021 through 2024. To download the match schedule, click here (also available below).

Fans will be able to follow and enjoy the competition through the Confederation’s TV partner networks, including CBS | Paramount + (USA-English), TUDN | ViX (USA-Spanish), One Soccer (CAN), ESPN | Star+ (Mexico, Caribbean, Central America, and South America), and multiple partners around the world. For other territories, the event will be available on the Official Concacaf App (all subject to territory restrictions). 

Eight teams are slated to participate in the tournament, including the United States and Canada. The reigning FIFA Women’s World Cup Champions and the 2020 Tokyo Olympics Gold Medal winners qualified by virtue of being the top two ranked teams in Concacaf and have been joined by hosts Mexico, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Panama, Haiti, and Trinidad and Tobago. Those six teams secured their tickets to the 2022 CWC thanks to first-place finishes in their respective groups during the 2022 Concacaf W Qualifying (CWQ). 

The eight participating nations were drawn on April 19 into two groups and will play as follows:  

Group A: United States, Mexico, Jamaica, Haiti 
Group B: Canada, Costa Rica, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago 

The group stage of the 2022 CWC will kick off on July 4 and will run through July 11. At the end of round robin play, the top two teams from each group will move on to the semifinals and in doing so, qualify directly to the 2023 FWWC (four teams). Meanwhile, the third placed teams in each group will qualify for a 2023 FWWC Intercontinental Playoff (two teams). 

The semifinals on July 14 at Estadio Universitario, and the final and third-place match on July 18 at Estadio BBVA, will be played in a single elimination format, with the Champion qualifying for both the 2024 Paris Olympics and the inaugural Concacaf W Gold Cup (CWGC), to be held in 2024. 

The runner-up and third-place teams will also square off in a Concacaf Olympic play-in series, scheduled for September 2023. The winner of that play-in series will also qualify for the 2024 Paris Olympics and the 2024 CWGC. 

The current CWC champion is the United States (second consecutive title and eighth overall) after they defeated Canada 2-0 in the 2018 Final, in Frisco, Texas. 

2022 Concacaf W Championship Schedule
*Listed in ET (local time) and subject to change. 

Monday, July 4, 2022 – Estadio Universitario   
19:00 (18:00) United States vs Haiti 
22:00 (21:00) Mexico vs Jamaica 

Tuesday, July 5, 2022 – Estadio BBVA 
19:00 (18:00) Costa Rica vs Panama  
22:00 (21:00) Canada vs Trinidad and Tobago 

Thursday, July 7, 2022 – Estadio BBVA 
19:00 (18:00) Jamaica vs United States 
22:00 (21:00) Haiti vs Mexico 

Friday, July 8, 2022 – Estadio Universitario   
19:00 (18:00) Trinidad and Tobago vs Costa Rica  
22:00 (21:00) Panama vs Canada 

Monday, July 11, 2022  
19:00 (18:00) Canada vs Costa Rica - Estadio BBVA  
19:00 (18:00) Panama vs Trinidad and Tobago - Estadio Universitario 
22:00 (21:00) Jamaica vs Haiti - Estadio BBVA
22:00 (21:00) United States vs Mexico - Estadio Universitario   

Thursday, July 14, 2022 – Estadio Universitario 
19:00 (18:00) SF1: 1A vs 2B 
22:00 (21:00) SF2: 1B vs 2A 

Monday, July 18, 2022 – Estadio BBVA 
19:00 (18:00) 3rd: Loser SF1 vs Loser SF2 
22:00 (21:00) F: Winner SF1 vs Winner SF2