Groups Set for the 2018 Concacaf Under-20 Championship Qualification Stage
Latest News

Groups Set for the 2018 Concacaf Under-20 Championship Qualification Stage

Published on

The group winners and second-place finishers will qualify for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Poland 2019

Miami (Monday, November 12, 2018) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) will kick off tomorrow the Qualification Stage of the 2018 Concacaf Under-20 Championship. The second round of the men’s youth World Cup qualifying competition will take place November 13-19, at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, FL. 

After an initial Group Stage that included a record number of 34 teams, the six group winners have been divided into two groups. The three team groups will be composed as follows:

Group G
Winner Group A – United States
Winner Group C – Honduras
Winner Group E – Costa Rica

Group H
Winner Group B – Mexico
Winner Group D – Panama
Winner Group F – El Salvador

After round robin play, the two group winners plus the second-place finishers will qualify for the 2019 FIFA U-20 World Cup. Additionally, the two group winners will advance to the tournament’s final to determine the regional champion. The final is scheduled to be played Wednesday, November 21, 2018. 

The complete schedule can be found here.

In line with the competition regulations, teams have been permitted to make up to 6 non-injury related player changes. The updated rosters for the six teams participating in the Qualification Stage can be found here

Fans will be able to follow all the action through the Confederation’s partner networks, including Univision Deportes (United States), Fox Sports Latin America (Mexico & Central America), Flow Sports (Caribbean) and other local partners. For other territories, the tournament will be available on Concacaf GO (subject to territory restrictions).