FIFA U-20 World Cup Draw held in Auckland

The Draw for the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup took place on February 10, 2015, at the SKYCITY Convention Centre in Auckland, New Zealand. (Photo:

AUCKLAND, New Zealand – The draw for the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup was held Tuesday at the SKYCITY Convention Centre in Auckland, revealing opposition for each of CONCACAF’s four representatives.

While the United States was drawn into Group A with tournament host New Zealand, Ukraine and Myanmar, CONCACAF champion Mexico found itself in arguably the most difficult quartet.  The Tricolor will face Uruguay, Serbia and a yet-to-be-determined African side in Group D.

In Group B, Panama will take on South American champion Argentina, Austria and an undetermined African opponent.

Honduras is set to be challenged by European champion Germany, Fiji, Uzbekistan in Group F.

The 20th edition of the 24-team competition will be held May 30 – June 20 in seven cities throughout New Zealand.  Argentina has won a record six titles, while Mexico’s runner-up placement in 1977 is the best finish by a CONCACAF representative.

FIFA U-20 World Cup 2015 group stage draw:

GROUP A: New Zealand, Ukraine, United States, Myanmar

GROUP B: Argentina, Panama, Africa 3, Austria

GROUP C: Qatar, Colombia, Portugal, Africa 4

GROUP D: Mexico, Africa 2, Uruguay, Serbia

GROUP E: Africa 1, Brazil, Korea DPR, Hungary

GROUP F: Germany, Fiji, Uzbekistan, Honduras

The four African representatives will be determined at the 2015 African U-20 Championship, which will be played March 8-22 in Senegal.

2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup

May 30 – June 20

New Zealand

Schedules of CONCACAF Representatives


(Group F)

June 1  v Uzbekistan, at Christchurch

June 4  v Fiji, at Christchurch

June 7  v Germany, at Christchurch


(Group D)

May 31 v Africa 2, at Dunedin

June 3  v Uruguay, at Dunedin

June 6  v Serbia, at Dunedin


(Group B)

May 30 v Argentina, at Wellington

June 2  v Autsria, at Wellington

June 5  v Africa 3, at Auckland


(Group A)

May 30 v Myanmar, at Whangarei

June 2  v New Zealand, at Auckland

June 5  v Ukraine, at Auckland