CONCACAF Under-20 Championship match officials chosen

Costa Rica's Henry Bejarano (pictured) was one of 12 referees assigned to work the 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship. (Photo: Leopoldo Smith Murillo/Straffon Images)

MIAMI -- CONCACAF announced Thursday the names of those selected to officiate at the 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship in Costa Rica.

A total of 28 referees (12) and assistant referees (16) from 15 different countries earned assignments to the competition, which qualifies four teams directly to the 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup.

“We have appointed the top referees to officiate the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship, which is one of the oldest and most important competitions within our Confederation,” said CONCACAF Director of Refereeing Brian Hall.  “The tournament promises challenging and competitive games, providing a platform to display not only the best professional young players, but also the extraordinary talent of our referees.”

The names of match officials are below:


Drew Fischer (CAN)

Henry Bejarano (CRC)

Oscar Reyna (GUA)

Armando Castro (HON)

Melvin Matamoros (HON)

Kevin Morrison (JAM)

Valdin Legister (JAM)

Erick Miranda (MEX)

Jafeth Perea (PAN)

Javier Santos (PUR)

Marlon Mejia (SLV)

Armando Villarreal (USA)


Philippe Briere (CAN)

Carlos Fernandez (CRC)

Leonardo Sanchez (CUB)

Raidel Toledo (CUB)

Hermenerito Leal (GUA)

Melvyn Cruz (HON)

Richard Washington (JAM)

Marcos Quintero (MEX)

Henry Pupiro (NCA)

Ronald Bruna (PAN)

Jairo Morales (PUR)

Graeme Browne (SKN)

Geovany Garcia (SLV)

Zachari Zeegelaar (SUR)

Joseph Bertrand (TRI)

Frank Anderson (USA)

The CONCACAF Under-20 Championship will be played February 17 – March 5, 2017, at the Estadio Nacional in San Jose and the Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Ayma in Tibas.