Ertz named 2017 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year
Share Article

Ertz named 2017 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year

Published on / Updated on at

Chicago Red Stars and USA standout Julie Ertz (pictured) was named the U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year on December 20, 2017. (Photo:

CHICAGO.-  Julie Ertz has been voted the 2017 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year, it was announced Wednesday.

While known more for her play as a center back during the majority of her career, Ertz settled in nicely to the role of defensive midfielder in 2017, scoring four goals and registering three assists in 23 games for the Chicago Red Stars during the National Women’s Soccer League season. The 25-year-old appeared in 12 games for the United States (6 goals, 0 assists).

"I want to give a big thanks to everyone who voted," said Ertz, who finished ahead of runner-up Megan Rapinoe. "This was a really unique year for me with a lot of different challenges, but it means so much to have the support of my husband, my family, my coaches and my teammates.”

Ertz (nee Johnston) joined Lauren Holiday and Tobin Heath as the only players to be named both the U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year and Young Female Player of the Year during their careers. She was the Young Female Player of the Year in 2012 when she captained the USA to the FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup title and won the Bronze Ball as the third-best player in the tournament.

All-Time Honorees

1985: Sharon Remer
1986: April Heinrichs
1987: Carin Jennings
1988: Joy Biefeld
1989: April Heinrichs
1990: Michelle Akers
1991: Michelle Akers
1992: Carin Gabarra
1993: Kristine Lilly
1994: Mia Hamm
1995: Mia Hamm
1996: Mia Hamm
1997: Mia Hamm
1998: Mia Hamm
1999: Michelle Akers
2000: Tiffeny Milbrett
2001: Tiffeny Milbrett
2002: Shannon MacMillan
2003: Abby Wambach
2004: Abby Wambach
2005: Kristine Lilly
2006: Kristine Lilly
2007: Abby Wambach
2008: Carli Lloyd
2009: Hope Solo
2010: Abby Wambach
2011: Abby Wambach
2012: Alex Morgan
2013: Abby Wambach
2014: Lauren Holiday
2015: Carli Lloyd
2016: Tobin Heath
2017: Julie Ertz

Read this next