Updated groups and calendar announced for 2021 CWU17 Qualifying
Latest News

Updated groups and calendar announced for 2021 CWU17 Qualifying

Published on

Miami, FL – Concacaf has announced changes to the groups and schedule of the region’s Women’s U-17 Qualifying. The tournament will take place from October 20 to November 1, 2021, at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, FL, USA.

Following the withdrawal of a number of teams due to Covid-19 travel restrictions, which resulted in an uneven number of teams per group, Concacaf has made the decision to reformat the tournament’s group stage to two groups of three teams and one group of four teams. The new groups are as follows:

Group A: Saint Kitts and Nevis, US Virgin Islands and Suriname
Group B: Barbados, Curaçao and Belize
Group C: Honduras, Anguilla, Guyana and Turks and Caicos Islands

The updated schedule for the 2021 CWU17 is available below.

At the end of group stage play, the winner of each group and the best ranked second place finisher will advance to the 2022 Concacaf Women’s U-17 Championship (CWU17).

The ranking of the best second-place team will be determined using a weighted points system (total number of points divided by the number of matches played).

The 2022 CWU17 is scheduled to take place in January. The top ranked 16 teams participating in the Group Stage of the Championship will be divided into four groups. After round-robin play, the top three teams in each group will advance to the Round of 16, joining the four teams from the Qualifiers.

The winner, runner-up, and third place of the 2022 CWU17 will qualify for the 2022 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup.

The FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup is scheduled to be played in India between October 11-30, 2022.

Concacaf Women's Under-17 Qualifiers