32 teams to take part in 2022 Concacaf Girls’ U-15 Championship in Tampa, Florida 
Latest News

32 teams to take part in 2022 Concacaf Girls’ U-15 Championship in Tampa, Florida 

Published on
  • Fourth edition of the developmental tournament kicks off July 31 and will include the participation of more than 500 girls from across the region  
  • Fans will be able to follow and enjoy all the action through the Official Concacaf App 

Miami, FL – Concacaf has announced that the 2022 Concacaf Girls’ U-15 Championship is scheduled to take place from July 31 to August 7 and will feature the participation of 31 Concacaf Member Associations, as well as one invited guest. 

The 2022 edition of the developmental tournament will be hosted in its entirety at the Hillsborough County Tournament Sportsplex in Tampa, Florida, United States. 

“We are thrilled to once again be hosting this exciting competition, especially at such an important time for women’s football in our region with the Concacaf W Qualifiers delivered earlier this year and the upcoming W Championship in July. 

“Our U15 Girls Championship will provide hundreds of girls from across North America, Central America and the Caribbean with an opportunity to compete and experience all aspects of a top-level Concacaf competition,” said Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio.

To ensure sporting balance and fully leverage this exceptional development opportunity for all young players, the 32 participating teams will be divided into three leagues according to their Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Ranking of May 2022 as follows:  

League A (seven highest ranked teams and guest team): Canada, Costa Rica, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, Puerto Rico, United States, and the guest nation.  

League B (next 12 best ranked teams): Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Bermuda, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guyana, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and Trinidad and Tobago. 

League C (lowest ranked teams): Anguilla, Aruba, Belize, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Turks and Caicos Islands, and US Virgin Islands. 

To view the Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Ranking, click here

Competition Format 

Within each League, the participating teams will be divided into groups of four teams each. After round robin play, the two group winners and second place finishers of League A will advance to the knockout stage and will play for the tournament’s championship.  

For Leagues B and C, the three group winners and the best second place finisher will advance to the semifinals of their respective League.  

Furthermore, the remaining teams in each League will dispute an additional match for final position in the competition. 

The knockout stage of each League will be disputed in a single match direct elimination format, beginning with the semifinals, followed by a final and third place match.  

With this format, each League will crown a Champion and guarantee that every participating team plays a minimum of four competitive matches. 

Concacaf will announce the groups and schedule in the upcoming weeks.  

Fans will be able to follow and enjoy the competition through the Confederation’s TV partner networks, including FlowSports (Caribbean). For other territories, the event will be available on the Official Concacaf App (all subject to territory restrictions). 

The previous edition of the Concacaf Girls’ U-15 Championship took place in 2018, in Bradenton, Florida. The United States won its second title at this age level after defeating Mexico 3-0 in the League A Final. The 2020 edition of the competition was canceled due to the Covid-19 pandemic.