Schedule set for 2022-23 CNL Group Stage matches in March
Latest News

Schedule set for 2022-23 CNL Group Stage matches in March

Published on

Miami, FL - The schedule for the 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League (CNL) Group Stage matches that will take place in the FIFA Match Window of March 2023 (March 23-28, 2023) is set. 

The decisive 34 matches will conclude the Group Stage of the CNL’s second edition and will determine the national teams that will participate in this summer’s Concacaf Nations League Finals (four teams) and Concacaf Gold Cup (24 teams).  

These matches will also determine the Leagues B and C teams that will be promoted to Leagues A and B, respectively, for the revamped 2023/24 CNL. The third edition of the CNL commences in September 2023 and will determine the six Concacaf national teams that will qualify for the 2024 CONMEBOL Copa America. 

More information about the Confederation’s recently announced men’s national team competitions for the 2023-2026 cycle is available here.

  • Click here to download the CNL’s match schedule for March.
Schedule CNL March 2023

Play in 2022/23 CNL kicked off during the FIFA Match Window of June 2022 in which fans were treated to entertaining matches and more than 190 goals. There was no shortage of excitement across all leagues, with fierce competition to qualify for a major summer tournament.

Just two of the 12 groups, both in League C, were decided by the end of last June’s window. March’s games should produce a grandstand finish, with much at stake for nearly all the teams in action.

  • Click here to view the competition’s standings and results. 

The CNL was introduced by the Confederation in 2018 and provides all member associations with the opportunity to compete consistently in a regular schedule of official matches during the four-year cycle between FIFA World Cups. It drives development and delivers a compelling tournament for fans across the entire region.

The first edition was won by the United States after a fantastic Final against Mexico, which was played in Denver, Colorado in June 2021.


The 2022/23 Concacaf Nations League Finals (CNL Finals) will be played amongst the four CNL League A group winners and will consist of semifinals, third place match, and a final, where the second CNL Champion will be crowned.  

To determine the semifinal matchups, the four participating teams will be ranked 1-4, according to their performance in the Group Stage, with the highest ranked team facing the lowest ranked team (1 vs 4 and 2 vs 3). 


The 17th edition of the Concacaf Gold Cup is scheduled to take place June 16 – July 16, 2023, and will include a 12-team Preliminary Round (Prelims) and a 16-team Group Stage. All followed by a single match direct elimination knockout stage. 

The teams that will participate in the Prelims and Group Stage of the 2023 Gold Cup will be confirmed at the conclusion of the 2022/23 CNL Group Stage, as follows:  

2023 Gold Cup Prelims: 12 teams 

  • League A third place finishers (four teams) 
  • League B second place finishers (four teams) 
  • League C group winners (four teams) 

Thus far, two nations, Saint Lucia and Puerto Rico, have secured a berth into the Prelims.  

2023 Gold Cup Group Stage: 16 teams 

  • League A group winners and second place finishers (eight teams) 
  • League B group winners (four teams) 
  • 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup Prelims winners (three teams) 
  • Guest nation and Asian Champions, Qatar 

To date, three Concacaf nations, El Salvador, Jamaica, and Panama, have secured a berth in the Gold Cup Group Stage.