Gold Cup glory at stake as Mexico and Panama meet in Final
Latest News

Gold Cup glory at stake as Mexico and Panama meet in Final

Published on

LOS ANGELES, California – The chance to forever be emblazoned as Concacaf Gold Cup champions will be on the line on Sunday when Mexico and Panama meet in the 2023 Gold Cup Final at SoFi Stadium in Los Angeles, California.

This marks the first time that these two nations have squared off in a Gold Cup Final, however it will be their sixth all-time meeting in Gold Cup play, the last being a 2015 semifinal in which Mexico emerged with a 2-1 victory in extra time.

Overall, the two sides share a 2W-1D-2L record in Gold Cup match-ups, making Sunday’s Final a tiebreaker.

Panama’s last victory against Mexico came in the 2013 tournament when they defeated Mexico twice during the competition; once in the group stage and then again in the semifinal by 2-1 scorelines. Since then, Mexico are unbeaten in 13 matches against the Canaleros.

Panama are in their third Gold Cup Final – more than any Central American nation -- and first since 2013 and will be seeking a first ever crown. They would also make history by becoming the first Central American nation to win the Gold Cup.

The Canaleros edged the United States 5-4 in a penalty shootout following a 1-1 draw in the semifinals to advance to Sunday’s Final. Throughout the tournament they have been bolstered by the superb play of MF Adalberto Carrasquilla, who has two assists, 11 ball recoveries and 11 fouls drawn in the tournament. FW Ismael Diaz has also been a big part of their success with four goals, while MF Edgar Barcenas has two goals and 268 passes completed.

Mexico are targeting a record ninth Gold Cup title and arrive into their third consecutive Gold Cup Final overflowing with confidence after a decisive 3-0 semifinal victory Jamaica.

Mexico have gotten important contributions from all over, with four different players accounting for two goals each in the tournament: Henry Martin, Luis Chavez, Orbelin Pineda and Luis Romo.

History could also be in the making on Sunday, as legendary GK Guillermo Ochoa is poised to break the record for the most Gold Cup appearances by a Mexico player, reaching the 25-game plateau, one ahead of former teammate Andres Guardado (24).

With a win, Ochoa would also become the first player to win five Gold Cups (2009, 2011, 2015, 2019), placing himself one ahead of DaMarcus Beasley and Landon Donovan of the United States.

Match Officials Mexico vs Panama 

Referee: * SAID MARTINEZ (Honduras) 

1st Assistant Referee: WALTER LOPEZ (Honduras) 

2nd Assistant Referee: CHRISTIAN RAMIREZ (Honduras) 

4th Official: DANEON PARCHMENT (Jamaica) 

Reserve Assistant Referee: CALEB WALES (Trinidad and Tobago) 




* It will be the second consecutive Gold Cup final for Honduran referee Said Martínez.

Mexico has a streak of 13 matches without losing against Panama in all competitions.

The last time Panama defeated Mexico was in the 2013 Gold Cup Semifinal.

Panama's only victories against Mexico were in the 2013 Gold Cup Group A, 2-1 (Gabriel Torres x2; Marco Fabián for Mexico) at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena (7/7/2013) and in the semifinals, 2-1 (Blas Pérez and Román Torres; Luis Montes for Mexico) at the Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, TX (24/7/2013).

The highest-scoring victory for Mexico against Panama was 7-1 in the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers for Korea/Japan 2002 on September 3, 2000, at the Azteca Stadium in Mexico City.

Raúl Jiménez (4) and Carlos Septién (3) are Mexico's top scorers in the series against Panama. Meanwhile, Blas Pérez (2), Gabriel Torres (2), Román Torres (2), and Luis Tejada (2) are the Panamanian players who have scored the most goals against Mexico.

Mexico leads the all-time series in regulation time GP-28 W-20 D-6 L-2 (GF-53 GA-16).


6th game in Concacaf Gold Cup.

Mexico 1-0 Panama (Carlos Salcido), Group C - Gold Cup 2007, Reliant Stadium, Houston (13-JUN).

Mexico 1-1 Panama (Miguel Sabah; Blas Pérez), Group C - Gold Cup 2009, Reliant Stadium, Houston (9-JUL-2009).

Mexico 1-2 Panama (Marco Fabián; Gabriel Torres x2), Group A - Gold Cup 2013, Rose Bowl, Pasadena (7-JUL-2013).

Panama 2-1 Mexico (Blas Pérez, Román Torres; Luis Montes), Semifinals - Gold Cup 2013, Cowboys Stadium, Arlington (24-JUL-2013).

Panama 1-2 (TE) Mexico (Román Torres; Andrés Guardado x2), Semifinals - Gold Cup 2015, Georgia Dome, Atlanta (22-JUL-2015).