Scotiabank CONCACAF Under-13 Champions League opens Saturday

The second-ever Scotiabank CONCACAF Under-13 Champions League will start on July 23, 2016, in Mexico City.

MEXICO CITY -- The second edition of the Scotiabank CONCACAF Under-13 Champions League is set to kick off Saturday with 16 teams from 10 countries throughout North America, Central America and the Caribbean. It will take place July 23-30, 2016, at the Universidad Intercontinental.

The round-robin format will guarantee each participant three group games followed by quarterfinals, semifinals, third-place match and final.

“Scotiabank is proud to support the CONCACAF Under-13 tournament again this year,” said Richard Mainella, Vice President Marketing, Scotiabank Mexico. “Our sponsorship will continue to focus on bringing opportunities to young people and building strong communities through sport, by teaching the importance of teamwork, self-confidence and leadership skills.”

In December 2014, Scotiabank proudly announced a partnership with CONCACAF that made it the official bank of CONCACAF and the league’s first official partner.

“We would like to thank Scotiabank for their continued support in spearheading the second edition of the Scotiabank CONCACAF Under-13 Champions League," said CONCACAF General Secretary Philippe Moggio. “This tournament, which truly provides a unique pan-regional platform, captures the imagination of youth leagues within CONCACAF and demonstrates the shared commitment of Scotiabank and the Confederation to future generations of our sport.”

Toluca won the inaugural competition last year.

Scotiabank CONCACAF Under-13 Champions League
Universidad Intercontinental – Mexico City, Mexico
July 23-30, 2016

Group A
Buhos de Hermosillo FC (Mexico)
Real Esteli (Nicaragua)
Harbour View (Jamaica)
San Juan Jabloteh (Trinidad & Tobago)

Group B
Menor Tijuana (Mexico)
Comunicaciones (Guatemala)
Alajuelense (Costa Rica)
Vancouver Whitecaps (Canada)

Group C
Pungarabato Guerrero (Mexico)
Sporting Kansas City (USA)
Chorrillo FC (Panama)
Santa Ana (El Salvador)

Group D
Instituto Cedrus (Mexico)
ADFA Ahuachapan (El Salvador)
Herediano (Costa Rica)
Impact de Montreal (Canada)