Under-20 Championship starts Friday

The Estadio Ricardo Saprissa (pictured) in Tibas, San Jose, Costa Rica, will be the venue for the opening match of the 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship on February 17, 2017. (Photo: Straffon Images)

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica – The 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship – the competition’s 26th edition -- opens Friday in Costa Rica with a Group A doubleheader featuring three-time defending champion Mexico at the Estadio Ricardo Saprissa.

Friday – February 17, 2017
Honduras v Canada, 6:30 p.m. ET
Mexico v Antigua & Barbuda, 9:00 p.m. ET

Group B – Haiti, Panama, St. Kitts & Nevis and the United States – will start play Saturday. On Sunday, Group C kicks off with host Costa Rica, Bermuda, El Salvador and Trinidad & Tobago.

Under the new format, designed to increase the number of meaningful, competitive matches, the top two teams from Groups A, B, and C will advance to the Classification Stage, where the Confederation’s four tickets to the World Cup will be determined in round-robin play among two groups of three teams each.

The top two teams from each of the two Classification Stage groups will qualify as CONCACAF representatives to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Korea Republic 2017.

List of Champions

1962: Mexico
1964: El Salvador
1970: Mexico
1973: Mexico
1974: Mexico
1976: Mexico
1978: Mexico
1980: Mexico
1982: Honduras
1984: Mexico
1986: Canada
1988: Costa Rica
1990: Mexico
1992: Mexico
1994: Honduras
1996: Canada
1998: no champion
2001: no champion
2002: no champion
2005: no champion
2007: no champion
2009: Costa Rica
2011: Mexico
2013: Mexico
2015: Mexico