Honduras reveals Central American U-20 qualifying roster

Dylan Andrade (pictured) was named to Honduras' roster for the 2016 Central American U-20 qualifying tournament. (Photo: Mexsport)

TEGUCIGALPA, Honduras – Honduras under-20 national team head coach Carlos Tabora announced Monday a 20-player roster ahead of next month’s Central American qualifying tournament for the 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship.

The selection is highlighted by the inclusion of forward midfielders Foslyn Grant and Jafeth Leiva, each of whom scored a goal at the 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup. 

Others in the squad with U-17 World Cup experience include defender Dylan Andrade (3 games), goalkeeper Michael Perello (2 games), plus midfielders Jorge Alvarez (3 games) and Erick Arias (3 games).

The five-team Central American tournament will take place at the Estadio Maracana in the El Chorrillo section of Panama City, Panama, from July 8-16, 2016. The top three finishers will advance to the CONCACAF event.


GOALKEEPERS: Javier Delgado, Michael Perello

DEFENDERS: Dylan Andrade, Wesly Decas, Jose Garcia, Kenneth Hernandez, Denil Maldonado, Ricky Zapata

MIDFIELDERS: Jorge Alvarez, Erick Arias, Sendel Cruz, Rembrandt Flores, Foslyn Grant, Jafeth Leiva, Jose Quiroz, Jose Reyes, Álvaro Romero

FORWARDS: Cristian Avila, Mario Flores, Douglas Martinez