U-17 WWC: Mexico captures Group A crown

Mexico's Montserrat Hernandez (green jersey) battles Berta Pujadas of Spain for the ball during their FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup match on October 7, 2016, in Amman, Jordan. (Photo: FIFA via Getty Images)


AMMAN, Jordan – Mexico (2W-1D-0L, 7 points, GD+8) claimed the Group A crown in the 2016 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup after a 1-1 draw with Spain (2W-1D-0L, 7 points, GD+8) on Friday at King Abdullah II International Stadium.

Both sides – which had previously secured knockout-round berths -- finished level on points, points in matches between them and goal difference, but the CONCACAF runner-up earned the top spot as result of scoring more goals in all group matches (10 to 9). 

In the quarterfinals on October 12, Mexico will face Group B runner-up Venezuela – a 2-0 winner over Canada – and Spain will square off against Germany.

Daniela Espinosa gave the Mexicans a 1-0 lead in the 56th minute, when she headed home at the edge of the six-yard box off a right-sided cross by a twisting Dayana Cazares from just outside the box.

Two minutes later, Spain leveled through Eva Navarro, who found the left-side netting from inside the six-yard after connecting on Paula Fernandez’s bouncing cross from the left side of the box.

Spain almost netted a game-winner in the 70th minute, but Mexico goalkeeper Miriam Aguirre denied Claudia Pina’s effort with a tremendous kick save.


Next match: October 12, 2016, v Venezuela



2016 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

October 8, 2016: King Abdullah II International Stadium – Amman, Jordan (Att: 1,900)

Spain-Mexico 1-1 (0-0)

Eva Navarro 58’ / Daniela Espinosa 56’


Spain: Catalina Coll; Ona Battle, Berta Pujadas, Laia Aleixandri, Natalia Ramos, Silvia Rubio, Oihane Hernandez, Lorena Navarro (Claudia Pina 65’), Paula Fernandez (Laura Gutierrez 80’), Candela Andujar, Maria Blanco (Eva Navarro 12’), Head Coach: Maria Is

Mexico: Miriam Aguirre; Ashley Soto, Jazmin Enrigue (Akemi Yokoyama 90’+2), Kimberly Rodriguez, Jimena Lopez, Dayana Cazares, Alexia Delgado, Daniela Espinosa, Montserrat Hernandez, Jacqueline Ovalle (Gabriela Juarez 72’), Luisa Delgado (Mia Villegas 64’). Head Coach: Christopher Cuellar


R: Ledya Tafesse (Ethiopia); AR1: Tatiane Sacilotti Dos Santos Camargo (Brazil); AR2: Nilda Gamarra (Paraguay); 4th: Regildenia Holanda De Moura (Brazil)