Honduras, Cayman Islands, Belize and Guyana qualify for 2020 CUW17
Latest News

Honduras, Cayman Islands, Belize and Guyana qualify for 2020 CUW17

Published on

MIAMI, Florida Honduras, Cayman Islands, Belize and Guyana have all punched tickets to the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship after finishing atop their respective groups in last week’s 2019 Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship Qualifying.

Matched with Saint Lucia, Bonaire and Anguilla in Group A, Honduras marched to a first-place finish with a 3W-0D-0L, 17GF-0GC record at the Estadio Olimpico Metropolitano in San Pedro Sula, Honduras.

Top scores Group A: Krysan St Louis Saint Lucia (8) goles, Larissa Marisol Arías, Maylin Iveth Menjivar, Ana Marisolo Torres (Honduras) and  Carlia Johnson of Anguilla (5) each one.  

The Truman Bodden Sports Complex in George Town, Cayman Islands was the site of Group B where hosts Cayman Islands took top spot with a 2W-1D-0L, 16GF-3GC record, finishing ahead of Martinique, Antigua and Barbuda and Dominica.

While the Cayman Islands and Martinique each finished with seven points, Cayman Islands’s superior goal difference (+13 to +7) proved to be the difference.

Molly Kehoe of Cayman Islands scored 8 goals.

Goal difference also factored into the winner of Group C at the Wildey Astro Turf Stadium in Wildey, Barbados, with Belize claiming first place with a 2W-1D-0L, 10GF-4GC record, compared to second-place Barbados, who finished 2W-1D-0L, 3GF-1GC. Rounding out the group was Saint Kitts and Nevis and U.S. Virgin Islands.

Ellie Stokes  Saint Kitts and Nevis (6) goals and  Kaite Korell Jones of Belize with (6)  

There was no need for a tiebreaker in Group D, as Guyana completed a perfect 3W-0D-0L, 11GF-4GC record over Bahamas, Curacao and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines at the Stadion Ergilio Hato in Willemstad, Curacao.

Areka Hooper (Saint Vincent and the Grenadinez), Rachell Rolle (Bahamas) and Jalada Trim of Guyana three goals each.

The Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship is scheduled to be played from March 21 to April 5th, 2020. The top 3 teams of the Championship will qualify to the 2020 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in India from September 21 to October 4th.