Concacaf Teams In The Under-17 Women’s World Cup
United States sealed their qualification as Concacaf 1 in the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup after winning the Concacaf Women's Under-17 Championship on June 12, 2018 in Bradenton, Florida (Photo: Roy Miller/

BRADENTON, Florida.- With the crowning of the United States as winner of the Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship, the three teams representing the Confederation at the Under-17 World Cup in Uruguay have been decided.

In the draw held last May 29 at the home of FIFA in Zurich, taking into account the Concacaf Championship which had initially took place in Nicaragua before being suspended and transferred to the United States, the three Concacaf teams were assigned in the following manner based on FIFA regulations.

Pot 1: Uruguay, Japan, North Korea, Spain
Pot 2: Germany, Ghana, United States (Concacaf 1), Mexico (Concacaf 2, Canada)
Pot 3: Brazil, New Zealand, (Concacaf 3, United States), South Korea
Pot 4: Colombia, South Africa, Cameroon, Finland.

Draw Procedure

The 16 qualified teams are assigned to four pots of four teams, each one based upon a ranking in accordance with its past performance.

The ranking is based on the total number of points obtained in the last five FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cups (three points for a victory, one point for a draw, zero for a defeat). The ranking used to form the pots is based on the points obtained in the 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014 and 2016 FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cups.

To allow for the ranking to accurately reflect current form, priority is given to results in previous World Cups. To a lesser extent, attention is also paid to the results of previous years. The system uses five cycles, with points won in a World Cup decreasing linearly during the cycles:

  • 2016: 100% of the value of total points
  • 2014: 80% of the value of total points
  • 2012: 60% of the value of total points
  • 2010: 40% of the value of total points
  • 2008: 20% of the value of total points

In addition, five bonus points are added to each one of the confederation champions that won its qualifying tournament.

* The three reserved places for the Concacaf teams are based on the ranking of the best teams that represented Concacaf in the last five FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cups.

The places of Concacaf 1, 2 and 3 will be assigned to the teams that qualify in the order reflected in the ranking based on points obtained in the last five FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cups, with five additional points awarded to the winner of the 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship.

The groups were determined as such following the draw:

Conformation of the groups

  • Grupo A: Uruguay, Ghana, New Zealand, Finland
  • Grupo B: Mexico, South Africa, Brazil, Japan
  • Grupo C: USA, Cameroon, North Korea, Germany
  • Grupo D:  Korea Republic, Spain, Canada, Colombia

The 2018 FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup will be played from November 13 to December 1 at three different sites: Estadio Domingo Burgueno Miguel in Maldonado; Estadio Alberto Suppici in Colonia and Estadio Churrua in Montevideo.