Concacaf confirms qualification route for Concacaf Champions League clubs into new expanded FIFA Club World Cup
Share Article

Concacaf confirms qualification route for CCL clubs into new expanded FIFA Club World Cup

Published on / Updated on at
  • CF Monterrey and Seattle Sounders qualify as Confederation champions in 2021 and 2022 respectively
  • New FIFA Club World Cup will feature 32 clubs, including 4 from Concacaf

Miami, FL (Tuesday, March 14, 2023) - Following today’s FIFA Council Meeting and subsequent communication regarding the new, expanded format for the 2025 FIFA Club World Cup, Concacaf can now confirm the following information regarding qualification from the Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League (CCL) to this new expanded global club championship.

It has now been confirmed that the winners of the 2021, 2022, 2023, and 2024 CCL competitions will qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup 2025.

  • 2021 CCL Champions: CF Monterrey (MEX)
  • 2022 CCL Champions: Seattle Sounders FC (USA)

Those two clubs will be joined by the winners of the 2023 (current edition) and 2024 Champions.

Should one club win the CCL title twice in the 2021-2024 period of competitions, then the next best team in the FIFA rankings would qualify for the FIFA Club World Cup, with further details of the ranking system to be communicated in due course.

A cap of two clubs per country will be applied, with an exception in case more than two clubs from the same country win the CCL over the four-year period 2021 to 2024.

The current edition of the CCL is underway with Round of 16 2nd Leg matches taking place this week. For results so far and scheduling of the competition, click  here.

Read this next