Tigres draw Ulsan Hyundai in FIFA Club World Cup
Latest News

Tigres draw Ulsan Hyundai in FIFA Club World Cup

Published on
  • Action to start on 4 February with Tigres against Ulsan

MIAMI, Florida – 2020 Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League winners Tigres UANL of Mexico have drawn 2020 Asian Football Confederations champions Ulsain Hyundai FC of South Korea in the second round of the 2020 FIFA Club World Cup in Qatar.

Tigres will make their FCWC debut on February 4 at the Ahmed bin Ali Stadium in Al Rayyan, Qatar, with the winner advancing to the semifinals face the champion of the 2020 Conmebol Copa Libertadores to be determined later this month between Brazilian clubs Palmeiras and Santos.

The Liga MX club is one of two teams making their FCWC debut, along with hosts Al-Duhail.

Six teams will participate in the tournament, with the Final to be played on February 11 at Education City Stadium in Al Rayyan. Other participants include 2020 UEFA Champions League winners Bayern Munich of Germany and 2020 CAF Champions League winners Al Ahly of Egypt.

Tigres are the ninth different team from Concacaf to compete in a FCWC, joining Mexican sides Pachuca (2007, 2008, 2010, 2017), Monterrey (2011, 2012, 2013, 2019), Club America (2006, 2015, 2016, Necaxa (2000), Atlanta (2009), Cruz Azul (2014) and Chivas (2018), along with Deportivo Saprissa of Costa Rica (2005).

With a victory over Ulsain Hyundai and the 2020 Conmebol Copa Libertadores champion in the semifinals, Tigres would become the first team from Concacaf to reach a FCWC Final.

The best finish from a Concacaf team in the FCWC to date is third place, accomplished by Monterrey (2012, 2019), Saprissa (2005) and Pachuca (2017).