Korea Republic defeats Honduras in pre-World Cup friendly
Photo of Honduras starting XI against Korea Republic the 28th of May at Daeugu Stadium (Courtesy: FENAFUTH)

DEAU, Korea Republic. – As part of its preparation for the 2018 World Cup in Russia, Korea Republic defeated Honduras 2-0 in an international friendly on Monday at Daeugu Stadium.

In what was the third international friendly between the two teams, goals from Son Heung-min in the 60th minute and Moon-sean Min in the 73rd minute earned the triumph for Korea’s World Cup-bound side.

After a scoreless first half in which the home side had the bulk of possession, super star Son Heung-min managed to take advantage of a ball lost by Honduras winger Alex Lopez in midfield, leading to the first goal.

Lee Seung-woo played to Son Heung-min on the left flank and with a precise touch he beat Honduras goalkeeper Donis Escober. It was Heung’s 21st international goal and Lee Seung-woo’s first international assist in his debut with the senior national team.

The goal injected life into the home crowd and gave a big push to the Korean side. In the 73rd minute Mun Sung-min would then score the host’s second. Hwang Hee-chan opened up some space on the left and sent in a cross where Moo-seon Min collected the rebounded and made it 2-0 with a left-footed shot.

Korea Republic, who will be one of Mexico’s opponents in Group F at the 2018 World Cup in Russia, will play another friendly against Bosnia, while Honduras will face El Salvador this Saturday, June 2 at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston, Texas.

Stat: Honduras and Korea Republic have faced each other three times in international friendlies, with Korea Republic winning the first two 3-0 (June 11, 1994 in Duncanville, TX) and 4-0 (March 25, 2011 in Seoul).

Referee: Hiroyuki Kimura (Japan)

Korea Republic: JO Hyeonwoo, Kwon Kyungwon, Go Yohan, Jeon Seunghyeon, Hong Chul, Lee Seungwoo, Lee Chungyong, Jung Wooyoung, Ju Sejong, Son Heungmin, Hwang Heechan. DT: Shin Taeyong

Honduras: Donis Escober, Bryan Beckeles (Felix Crisanto + 83), Henry Figueroa, Johnny Leveron, Ever Alvarado (Carlos Sánchez +86), Alfredo Mejía, Jorge Claros (Jhow Benavidez + 87), Mario Martínez (Carlos Ovidio Lanza + 75), Alexander López (Walter Martínez Betanco + 83, Rublio Castillo, Roger Rojas (Iván López + 70). DT: Carlos Tábora.