A look back at Concacaf competitions in 2018
The Under-20 Women’s World Cup it was certainly an excellent tournament for Haiti’s Nerilia Mondesir # 10 who scored all three of Haiti’s goals, including a brace against group winners Germany

MIAMI, Florida – The year 2018 was a memorable one inConcacaf, with history made on many fronts. Concacaf.com looks back on the competitions that marked 2018 in the region.

Scotiabank Concacaf Champions League (SCCL)

The knockout round format was used for the first time ever in the 2018 SCCL making for an exciting tournament. In the end, the Final was decided in a penalty shootout, with Chivas Guadalajara of Liga MX edging out Toronto FC of MLS 4-2 following a dramatic 3-3 draw on aggregate.

Scotiabank Concacaf League (SCL)

The second ever SCL produced a number of magical moments, with the Final between Motagua of Honduras and Costa Rica’s Herediano at the forefront. In the end, a late goal on Honduran soil earned Herediano a dramatic 3-2 series win and a place in the 2019 SCCL.

Concacaf Nations League Qualifying (CNLQ)

As part of Concacaf’s vision to offer more competitive matches to its Member Associations, CNLQ was created and drew rave reviews. With three of the four qualifying rounds complete, many of the 34 teams in action still have a shot at earning a top 10 finish and a spot in the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup.

Concacaf Men's Under-20 Championship

For the second straight time, the United States claimed top honors at the Concacaf Men’s Under-20 Championship after topping Mexico 2-0 in the Final. Alex Mendez, who scored both goals in the Final and a total of eight in the tournament, earned the Golden Ball.

Concacaf Women's Under-17 Championship

The United States won the Concacaf Women’s Under-17 Championship for the fourth time with a 3-2 win over Mexico in the Final. The U.S., Mexico and Canada finished in the top three and qualified for the FIFA Women’s Under-17 World Cup in Uruguay.

Concacaf Women's Under-20 Championship

Mexico took home its first ever Concacaf Women’s Uner-20 Championship after defeating the United States 4-2 in a penalty shootout following a 1-1 draw. History was also made when Haiti qualified for its first ever FIFA Women’s Under-20 World Cup after finishing in third place.

Concacaf Women's Championship

Reigning world champions the United States earned its eighth Concacaf Women’s Championship after posting a 2-0 win over Canada in the Final. At next summer’s FIFA Women’s World Cup in France, those two nations will be joined by Jamaica, who overcame Panama in the Third-Place Match to become the first Caribbean nation to qualify for a Senior Women’s World Cup.

FIFA Men's World Cup

Concacaf representatives Mexico, Costa Rica and Panama all gave great efforts at the FIFA World Cup in Russia. Mexico’s first ever defeat of Germany in the group stage and Panama’s first ever World Cup goal were among the highlights of the region’s participants.

FIFA Under-17 Women's World Cup

Mexico made it to the Final of a FIFA women’s youth tournament for the first time before losing to Spain 2-1. The tournament also featured the first ever all-Concacaf semifinal in which Mexico eliminated Canada 1-0.

FIFA Under-20 Women's World Cup

While the Under-20 Women’s World Cup saw Concacaf participants U.S., Mexico and Haiti exit at the group stage, it was certainly an excellent tournament for Haiti’s NeriliaMondesir, who scored all three of Haiti’s goals, including a brace against group winners Germany.

Concacaf Under-15 Girls’ Championship

The United States emerged as Division 1 winners of the Concacaf Under-15 Girls’ Championship thanks to a 3-0 extra time win over Mexico, while Bermuda took home the Division 2 title by edging Grenada 2-1.