Under-20 Championship starts Friday

The National Stadium in Kingston, Jamaica (pictured), will host the opening games on the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship on January 9, 2015. (Photo: Mexsport)

KINGSTON, Jamaica – The 2015 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship – the competition’s 25th edition -- opens Friday in Jamaica with a tripleheader at the National Stadium involving each of the six Group A teams.

Friday – January 9, 2015

Aruba v Panama, 3:00 p.m. ET

USA v Guatemala, 5:30 p.m. ET

Jamaica v Trinidad & Tobago, 8:00 p.m. ET

Group B -- consisting of Canada, Cuba, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras and two-time defending champion Mexico – will start play on Saturday.

The tournament will crown the Confederation champion at this age level and qualify four teams to the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup in New Zealand.  The top team from each group after round-robin play advances to the World Cup, and the second- and third-place nations from each group advance to the final day knockout phase, with the chance to dispute one of a pair of play-in matches which will determine CONCACAF's other two World Cup spots.

Kingston’s National Stadium and the Montego Bay Sports Complex will each play host to Group A matches, while the Montego Bay Sports Complex will be the home for all Group B action and the final phase on January 24.

In a bid to favor development and competition, the new CONCACAF under-20 tournament format has increased the number of guaranteed games for each participant to five, up from two in the previous editions.

For the results/schedule, highlights, match articles, features, statistics and more…visit CONCACAF.com.