Under-20 Championship draw held in Montego Bay

MONTEGO BAY, Jamaica – The draw for the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship Jamaica 2015 was held Thursday at the Hilton Rose Hall.

CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb opened the proceedings that determined the groupings and match schedule for the tournament, which kicks off January 9. The draw sorted the twelve qualified countries into two groups of six and was conducted with the assistance of Aaron Lawrence and Ricardo Gardner, veterans of Jamaica’s 1998 World Cup campaign.

Group A is set to feature host Jamaica, along with Trinidad & Tobago, Aruba, Panama, the United States and Guatemala.  Group B contains Haiti, Canada, Mexico, Cuba, Honduras and El Salvador, in order of position drawn.

The National Stadium in Kingston and the Montego Bay Sports Complex will each play host to Group A matches, with the opening date to be played in Kingston on January 9.  The Montego Bay Sports Complex hosts all the action in Group B, and the final phase on January 24.

The tournament will crown the Confederation champion at this age level, and qualify four teams to the FIFA Under-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015.  The top team from each group after round-robin play advances to the World Cup, and the second and third place nations from each group advance to the final day knockout phase, with the chance to dispute one of a pair of play-in matches which will determine CONCACAF's other two World Cup spots.

In a bid to favor development and competition, the new CONCACAF under-20 tournament format has increased the number of guaranteed games for each participant to five, up from two in the previous editions.

Mexico is the two-time defending CONCACAF under-20 champion, having claimed the title at home in Puebla in 2013, and in Guatemala City two years earlier.

Kingston and Montego Bay, Jamaica
January 9-24, 2015

Trinidad & Tobago

El Salvador


Day 1 – Friday, January 9
15:00 Aruba vs. Panama
17:30 USA vs. Guatemala
20:00 Jamaica vs. Trinidad & Tobago 

Day 2 – Saturday, January 10
15:00 Mexico vs. Cuba
17:30 Honduras vs. El Salvador
20:00 Haiti vs. Canada

Day 3 – Sunday, January 11
15:00 Trinidad & Tobago vs. Aruba
17:30 Panama vs. USA
20:00 Jamaica vs. Guatemala

Day 4 – Monday, January 12
15:00 Canada vs. Mexico
17:30 Cuba vs. Honduras
20:00 El Salvador vs. Haiti

Day 5 – Tuesday, January 13
Rest Day

Day 6 – Wednesday, January 14
15:00 Guatemala vs. Trinidad & Tobago
17:30 Aruba vs. USA
20:00 Jamaica vs. Panama   

Day 7 – Thursday, January 15
15:00 El Salvador vs.  Canada
17:30 Mexico vs. Honduras
20:00 Haiti vs. Cuba

Day 8 – Friday, January 16
Rest Day

Day 9 – Saturday, January 17
Rest Day

Day 10 – Sunday, January 18
15:00 Panama vs. Trinidad & Tobago
17:30 Guatemala vs. Aruba
20:00 Jamaica vs. USA   

Day 11 – Monday, January 19
15:00 Cuba vs. Canada
17:30 El Salvador vs. Mexico
20:00 Haiti vs. Honduras

Day 12 – Tuesday, January 20
Rest Day

Day 13 – Wednesday, January 21
15:00 Panama vs.  Guatemala
17:30 USA vs. Trinidad & Tobago
20:00 Jamaica vs. Aruba

Day 14 – Thursday, January 22
15:00 Cuba vs. El Salvador
17:30 Honduras vs. Canada
20:00 Haiti vs. Mexico

Day 15 – Friday, January 23
Rest Day

Day 16 – Saturday, January 24
14:00 2nd Play-in Seed vs. 3rd Play-in Seed
17:00 1st Play-in Seed vs. 4th Play-in Seed
20:00 1A vs. 1B