U-20 champion to be crowned Sunday
PUEBLA, Mexico - The title of CONCACAF Under-20 champion will be at stake on Sunday, when host Mexico and the United States square off on Sunday at the Estadio Cuauhtemoc. Familiar foes at the senior level, the geographic neighbors have not met at a CONCACAF U-20 competition since 1996. The Mexicans will be aiming for their 12th title, while the Americans are looking for their first.

Before the rivals meet, Cuba and El Salvador will tangle for third place.

SUNDAY - MARCH 3, 2013

Third Place Match
Cuba v El Salvador, 4:00 p.m. ET

Mexico v United States, 7:00 p.m. ET

Here are some other storylines to watch:

•  After winning both of its opening two matches in the competition by one goal, the U.S. won each of the next two by two goals. Can the Americans maintain their improved margin of victory against a Mexican team that has not conceded a goal thus far?

•  Mexico has won nine-consecutive CONCACAF Under-20 Championship games, scoring three or more goals in eight of those outings? Can the defending champion maintain that level of excellence on this occasion?

•  Cuba raced through its two group games and quarterfinal outing before stumbling against the U.S. in the semifinals. Will the Caribbean Lions be able to bounce back against El Salvador?

•  El Salvador looked impressive against Mexico in a 2-0 semifinal loss, conceding both goals in the last 13 minutes of the game. Do the Cuscatlecos have enough gas left in the tank to take third place?


All-Time CONCACAF Under-20 Champions
(number of titles in parentheses)

Mexico (11): 1962, 1970, 1973, 1974, 1976, 1978, 1980, 1984, 1990, 1992, 2011
Canada (2): 1986, 1996
Costa Rica (2): 1988, 2009
Honduras (2): 1982, 1994
El Salvador (1): 1964

Tournaments played 1998-2007 did not crown a champion.

For highlights, match articles, features, statistics and more…you can follow all the action at CONCACAF.com.