Trinidad U20s to train in Florida

Kadeem Corbin (red jersey) was called up to Trinidad & Tobago's training camp in Florida ahead of the 2015 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship. (Photo: Allan V. Crane)

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad & Tobago – The Trinidad & Tobago under-20 national team will convene for a training camp in Florida on January 1 as it prepares for the 2015 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship.

Based at the Shula’s Hotel and Resort in Miami Lakes, the 20-man squad will practice at St. Thomas University.

Head coach Derek King, who led the squad to a 3-0 win over Haiti in the final of the Caribbean Under-20 Championship earlier this year, is looking forward to completing preparations for the confederation competition, which will be played in Jamaica, January 9-24.

“This camp is a much welcomed one for the team,” King told TTFA Media on Wednesday.  “It’s an excellent opportunity for us to be together as a team in a camp environment before our first match in the tournament.”

Linking up with the selection will be United States-based players defender Leland Archer (College of Charleston), midfielders Duane Muckette (University of South Florida) and Brendon Creed (Temple University) and forward Ricardo John (Virginia Tech University).

“These player such as Muckette, Creed and John will definitely add some quality to what we already have with the likes of Corbin, Levi Garcia and the other boys who did exceptionally well for us in the Caribbean Championship,” King continued.  “The sessions this week were of a good quality with a lot of intensity and it’s a good sign of us.  “We intend to carry this straight into the Miami camp and the tournament in Jamaica.”

The junior Soca Warriors open the tournament against host Jamaica in Kingston on January 9.

(Training camp: January 1-7, 2015, in Miami Lakes, Florida)

Akim Rodney Andrews, Leland Archer, Kadeem Corbin, Brendon Creed, Maurice Phillip Ford, Akeem Ancil Garcia, Levi Garcia, Kevon Goddard, Akeem Brenton Humphrey, Ricardo John, Shannon Jurmark Gomez, Neveal Irwin Hackshaw, Jabari Anthony Mitchell, Karl Duane Muckette,  Jesus Angelo Perez, Jovan Jerrod Sample, Kishun Kirt Seecharan, Martieon Clyde Watson, Johan Jullian Welch, Matthew Charles Woo Ling