T&T U20s heading to Colombia for camp, matches

The Trinidad & Tobago under-20 national team (pictured) warms up ahead of a friendly on January 26, 2017, in Port of Spain, Trinidad & Tobago. (Photo: TTFA Media)

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad & Tobago – The Trinidad & Tobago’s men’s under 20 national team will bring 26 players Saturday to Cali, Colombia, for a training camp ahead of next month’s CONCACAF Under-20 Championship.

The squad, which will be reduced to a 20-man roster for the CONCACAF event, is expected to play up to five training matches against local professional clubs and possibly its Colombian counterparts.

“These 26 players came from the previous ten-day training camp we had and also comprises players we had been monitoring earlier in the season,” head coach Brian Williams told TTFA Media. “We believe this is the best 26-man squad at this time with the level of experience necessary to complete at the international level and in such a tournament as the CONCACAF championship.

“This leg of the preparations in Colombia is about getting the final chemistry in relation to the starting eleven and the final 20. Our main objective over the past few weeks was to get the team physically and mentally in the best shape possible and now we will focus on everything game related with emphasis on how we will want to play against the teams we are scheduled to face.”

T&T will open its CONCACAF Under-20 schedule against Bermuda on February 19 in Tibas, San Jose, Costa Rica.



GOALKEEPERS: Dejourn Charles (Carapichaima East), Montel Joseph (Boreham Wood FC—England), Jadel Poon-Lewis (Franklin Pierce University/USA), Denzil Smith (DirecTV W Connection)

DEFENDERS: Simeon Bailey (Barataria South), Kori Cupid (Presentation College, San Fernando), Isaiah Garcia (DirecTV W Connection), Kierron Mason (Marabella Crisis), Coby McGregor (Cedar Stars Academy/USA), Noah Powder (no club), Taryk Sampson (Ma Pau Stars), Kyle Thomas (San Juan Jabloteh)

MIDFIELDERS: Morgan Bruce-de-Rouche (no club), Marc Gangia (Odense/Denmark), Jesse Joseph (San Juan Jabloteh), Micah Lansiquot (St Ann’s Rangers), Stephan Marcano (Fatima College), Jabari Mitchell (DirecTV W Connection), Justin Sadoo (Point Fortin Civic), Shane Sandy (Ma Pau Stars), Joshua Sitney (Malta Carib Alcons)

FORWARDS: Joshua Leach (Police FC), Taofik Lucas-Walker (D.C. United/USA), Rushawn Murphy (St. Ann’s Rangers), Kathon St. Hillaire (St Ann’s Rangers), Josh Toussaint (St Ann’s Rangers)