Costa Rica Named Host for 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship
Twelve teams to compete for regional championship and four available spots in the FIFA U-20 World Cup Korea Republic 2017

Miami, FL (Friday, April 22, 2016) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced that Costa Rica will host the 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship, scheduled for February 17 to March 5, 2017. 

The two venues for the competition will be the National Stadium in San Jose, and the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium, home to Deportivo Saprissa of the Costa Rican First Division. 

“We are pleased to award the 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship to Costa Rica,” said CONCACAF Acting General Secretary Ted Howard. “Having successfully hosted the FIFA Women’s Under-17 World Cup in 2014, and with the CONCACAF FUTSAL Championship scheduled to be played in San Jose, May 8-14 of this year, Costa Rica continues to take on important responsibilities in hosting international tournaments, with impressive results.”

Costa Rica will welcome the region’s top Under-20 national teams to Central America for the tournament, which will crown the regional champion at this age level. The championship will also qualify four teams to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Korea Republic 2017.

“This will be a very good opportunity for Costa Ricans to see this qualifying tournament,” said Rodolfo Villalobos, President of the Costa Rican Football Federation (FEDEFUTBOL). “We are going to prepare the best we can to be great hosts, and provide the best conditions for all the teams. We are already waiting for them with open arms.

The 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship will include a field of twelve teams; Costa Rica as host, three additional teams from the Central American Football Union (UNCAF), five from the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) and three from North America. The qualifying tournaments for the Caribbean and Central America will begin in June and July of 2016 respectively.   

A date for the official draw will be announced in coming months.

Mexico is the defending Champion of the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship, after overcoming Panama 4-2 on penalties following a 1-1 draw in the 2015 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship Jamaica.  

CONCACAF Under-20 Championship Costa Rica 2017
: February 17 – March 5, 2017
Site: Costa Rica
Teams: 12
Caribbean Football Union (5)
Central American Football Union (4)
North America (3)

Number of teams to qualify for the World Cup: 4

Format: The twelve (12) teams shall be divided into a group stage consisting of two (2) groups (A, B) of six (6) teams each. The group winners qualify automatically for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Korea Republic 2017 and the championships final. The second- and third-place teams from each group are re-seeded by group stage results, with the top team of the four facing the fourth-best team, and the second-best finisher facing the third-best. The winner of each of those two matches also advances to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Korea Republic 2017.