CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship Jamaica 2013 Draw Held in Montego Bay

Eight-team event will determine two finalists for 2014 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in Costa Rica

To watch a video of the full draw, click here.

MONTEGO BAY, Jamaica (Monday, October 7, 2013) – The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) conducted a draw today for the CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship Jamaica 2013.

At the Hilton Rose Hall Resort, CONCACAF Director of Competitions Horace Reid oversaw proceedings that determined the groupings and match schedule.

Host Jamaica -- seeded into Group A -- kicks off its campaign against El Salvador on October 30, while the defending champion United States – seeded into Group B – opens with Trinidad & Tobago a day later.

“We are delighted to return to Jamaica for this event, which is the first women’s regional championship to be hosted by the country,” said CONCACAF President Jeffrey Webb, who was in attendance along with representatives from the participants.  “Jamaica has always been known as a hospitable, welcoming island, and we are confident the country has the infrastructure and know how to set the bar even higher, to host not only regional championships but also World Championships in the near future.”

The nations were divided into two groups of four, both of which will engage in round-robin play over the competition’s first six match days.  The top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals on Thursday, November 7.  The semifinal winners will advance to the final, as well as qualify to join host Costa Rica as CONCACAF’s representatives in the 2014 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

All tournament matches will be held at the Montego Bay Sports Complex.  The complete tournament schedule can be found here and below.

The United States has won two of the three CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championships to date, including the inaugural tournament in 2008, and the last edition in 2012.  Canada was crowned champion in 2010.

CONCACAF Women’s Under-17 Championship Jamaica 2013
October 30 – November 9, 2013
at Montego Bay, Jamaica (Montego Bay Sports Complex)

Group A: Jamaica, Mexico, Haiti, El Salvador        
Group B: United States, Canada, Guatemala, Trinidad & Tobago

Times U.S. Eastern (local time in parentheses)

Wednesday, October 30
Mexico vs. Haiti, 4:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. El Salvador, 7:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Thursday, October 31
Canada vs. Guatemala, 4:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
Trinidad & Tobago vs. United States, 7:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Friday, November 1
El Salvador vs. Mexico, 4:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. Haiti, 7:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Saturday, November 2
Canada vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 4:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
United States vs. Guatemala, 7:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Sunday, November 3
Haiti vs. El Salvador, 3:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
Jamaica vs. Mexico, 6:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Monday, November 4
Guatemala vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 3:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m.)
United States vs. Canada, 6:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Thursday, November 7
SF #1:  Winner Group B vs. Runner-up Group A, 3:00 p.m. (3:00 p.m.)
SF #2:  Winner Group A vs. Runner-up Group B, 6:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

Saturday, November 9
Loser SF #1 vs. Loser SF#2, 3:00 p.m. (3:00 p.m.)
Winner SF #1 vs. Winner SF#2, 6:00 p.m. (6:00 p.m.)

* CONCACAF reserves the right to change the time and order of matches.