How to Vote | CONCACAF Awards 2016
How to Vote | CONCACAF Awards 2016


The CONCACAF Awards, which will be presented for the fourth time for 2016, have been designed to recognize the top players, coaches and referees in women’s and men’s events from the CONCACAF region.

The CONCACAF Awards honor players and achievements in CONCACAF-sanctioned tournaments and competitions involving the Confederation’s national teams at all levels, including FIFA World Cups and World Cup qualifying for both genders, in all age categories. Performances also eligible for recognition include those achieved in professional club football leagues under CONCACAF’s stewardship in North America, Central America and the Caribbean, as well as the CONCACAF Champions League.
Players, coaches and referees of any nationality are eligible to be nominated, so long as they meet at least one of the following criteria:

  1. Have played/coached/refereed in an official CONCACAF tournament at club or national team level OR
  2. Have played/coached/refereed for a CONCACAF member national team in a FIFA-sanctioned international competition OR
  3. Have played/coached/refereed in a domestic league within CONCACAF’s territory:
  • A player/coach/referee from the CONCACAF region, who does not meet the above criteria (i.e. a player whose only performances in the past year came in a European or Asian league etc.), would not be eligible;
  • Goal of the Year applies only to goals scored during CONCACAF or FIFA official competitions or a league game disputed within the CONCACAF region;
  • Voters should base their judgments solely on performances in the above categorized competitions from January 1, 2016, to December 31, 2016.

This year’s award categories once again include Male and Female Player of the Year, as well as Male and Female Coach of the Year, Male and Female Goalkeeper of the Year, Male and Female Referee of the Year, Male and Female Best XI, and Goal of the Year.

In each category, a list of nominees has already been determined through voting of Technical Directors from each of CONCACAF’s 41 Member Associations and the CONCACAF Technical Study Group, which analyzes tactics and rates performances at all official CONCACAF tournaments.

CONCACAF will invite the following three groups to vote for the top individual in each category with a total group vote percentage of 33.3%:
  • Member Association National Team Head Coaches and National Team Captains = 33.3%
  • All media members in the CONCACAF database= 33.3%
  • Fans voting on CONCACAF.com website = 33.3%

Fans can have their say in the voting by visiting the fan voting page on CONCACAF.com, available here. Media should cast their ballot via the dedicated link to be sent separately to media members on CONCACAF’s distribution list. To apply to join the media list, please click here.

Voting is open through 11:59 EST, Sunday, January 8, 2017. 

Final votes in each of the 11 categories will be tallied and the winners announced via CONCACAF.com.