Olympic Qualifying - Women
About- Olympic Qualifying - Women
About- Olympic Qualifying - Women

Since it was first held in 2004, the CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship has served as the Confederation’s qualifying event for the Olympic Women’s Football Tournament. 

It consists two phases: regional qualifying (in the Caribbean and Central America) and a final tournament. 

In 2016, the competition will be contested in Houston and Frisco, Texas, USA, between eight teams from each of CONCACAF’s three zones being represented -- North America (three, including the host nation), Caribbean (three) and Central America (two). 

The United States, a four-time Olympic champion, has lifted the trophy after all three previous editions. 

In the pair of Olympic Women’s Football Tournament’s held prior to 2004, the United States represented CONCACAF each time based on it finishing among the top eight teams in the FIFA Women’s World Cup held the preceding year.

Year            Venue                         Qualifiers

1996            No tournament              United States

2000           No tournament              United States

2004            Costa Rica                      Mexico, *United States

2008            Mexico                           Canada, *United States

2012             Canada                           Canada, *United States 

*tournament winner