Zúñiga, Torres highlight Mexico CAC Games roster

Erick Torres (right) was called up to the Mexico under-21 national team for the upcoming Central American & Caribbean Games. (Photo: Mexsport)

MEXICO CITY – The Mexican Football Federation (FMF) announced Friday the roster for its under-21 national team’s participation in the XXII Central American & Caribbean Games, which will be played on home soil in Veracruz from November 14-30.

The selection is highlighted by the selection of forwards Martin Zúñiga and Erick Torres.

With five goals, Club America’s Zúñiga is the joint-top scorer in this season’s CONCACAF Champions League.  He netted three times in a record-breaking 10-1 win over Puerto Rico Bayamon FC on September 17.

Torres, who will be looking for a new club after Chivas USA recently ceased operations, has scored 22 goals in 44 all-time Major League Soccer games.  The Guadalajara product earned his first senior national call-up in September and has three caps, scoring his first goal in a 1-0 win over Panama on October 12.

The team will convene November 9 at the FMF’s High Performance Center for a training camp led by head coach Raul Gutierrez, before heading to Veracruz three days later.

Mexico is in Group A with Jamaica, El Salvador and Honduras.  Group B consists of Costa Rica, Haiti, Venezuela and Cuba.


(2014 Central American & Caribbean Games)

 GOALKEEPERS: Luis Alberto Cárdenas López (Monterrey), Manuel Lajud (Club Tijuana)

 DEFENDERS: Antonio Briseño Vázquez (Tigres), Gil Burón (Club America), Jorge Luis Caballero Torres (Monterrey), Carlos Alberto Guzmán Fonseca (Morelia), Bernardo Hernández De León (Monterrey), Hegardo Marín Arroyo (Guadalajara), Carlos Salcedo (Real Salt Lake/USA),

MIDFIELDERS: Jorge Espericueta (Villarreal/Spain), Daniel Hernández Trejo (Atlas), Franco Pedro Hernández (Dorados de Sinaloa), Raúl López Gómez (Coras FC), Uvaldo Luna Martínez (Tigres), Armando Cipriano Zamorano Flores (Morelia)

 FORWARDS: Marco Antonio Bueno Ontiveros (Toluca), Luis Guadalupe Loroña Aguilar (Puebla), Alfonso Tamay Sánchez (Puebla), Erick Torres (Chivas USA/USA), Martín Zúñiga (Club America)