Guatemala, Venezuela play to 1-1 draw

Gerson Tinoco (white jersey #9) scored Guatemala's only goal in a 1-1 draw with Venezuela on June 1, 2016, in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA. (Photo: Byron Giron)

FORT LAUDERDALE, Florida -- Salomon Rondon scored late in the second half to give Venezuela a 1-1 draw with Guatemala in an international friendly on Wednesday night at Lockhart Stadium.

The Guatemalans bounced back with a strong performance after Saturday’s 7-1 loss to Armenia in Carson, California, while Venezuela will now look ahead to its June 5 opener in the Copa America Centenario against another CONCACAF side, Jamaica.

Guatemala goalkeeper Ricardo Jerez, who did not play against Armenia, was in outstanding form. He made several key saves, including one on Rondon in the 29th minute and another later that thwarted Luis Manuel Seijas.

Carlos Ruiz nearly put the Guatemalans ahead off a counterattack in 35th minute, but his effort was blocked by goalkeeper Daniel Hernandez for a corner kick.

Each of the goals were netted after the break.

The Central Americans took a 1-0 lead in the 70th minute, when the Venezuelan defense failed to clear a Moises Hernandez cross and Gerson Tinoco was there to put the ball in the back of the net.

Venezuela then generated three consecutive corner kicks, with the pressure finally paying off as Rondon struck for the equalizer with seven minutes left in normal time.

After winning four straight games, Guatemala is winless in its last three outings.

International Friendly
June 1, 2016: Lockhart Stadium – Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA (Att: 7,217)
Guatemala-Venezuela 1-1 (0-0)
Gerson Tinoco 70’ / Salomon Rondon 83’

Guatemala: Ricardo Jerez; Cristian Jimenez, Hamilton Lopez, Moises Hernandez, Jose Contreras (Julian Priego 73’); Luis Martinez, Gerson Tinoco, Luis Cardona, Gerardo Arias, Carlos Ruiz (Mario Castellanos 90’+3), Rodrigo Saravia. Head Coach: Walter Claverí

Venezuela: Daniel Hernandez; Roberto Rosales (Alexander Gonzalez 72’), Jose Manuel Velazquez, Oswaldo Vizcarrondo, Mikel Villanueva, Tomás Rincon, Arquimedes Figuera (Romulo Otero 63’), Alejandro Guerra (Adalberto Peñaranda 85’), Juan Pablo Añor (Josef Martinez 71’), Luis Manuel Seijas, Salomon Rondon. Head Coach: Rafael Dudamel

R: Javier Santos (Puerto Rico). AR1: Jairo Morales (Puerto Rico); AR2: Janson Hill (Aruba)