Costa Rica’s Wanchope names first camp squad

Alajuelense's Armando Alonso (middle) was called up to Costa Rica's training camp scheduled for August 11-13, 2014. (Photo: Mexsport)

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica – Costa Rica acting head coach Paulo Cesar Wanchope announced a list of 21 players invited to participate in the team’s first camp since its historic run to the quarterfinals of the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

The entirely domestic-based squad, preparing for next month’s Copa Centroamericana, is scheduled to convene on Monday for three days of training at the Costa Rica Football Federation’s Project Goal facility.

"The idea of these mini-camps is to gain time and work with those who are here because the base of the list for UNCAF (Copa Centroamericana) will be players who are in Costa Rica,” said Wanchope.  “Those selections called today are players that we believe should be here and that we want to see, because then we have to give the final list for UNCAF.”

CONCACAF Champions League (CCL) sides Alajuelense and Saprissa are well represented with a combined eight chosen to attend Wanchope’s gathering.  Armando Alonso, who scored Alajuelense’s equalizer in a 1-1 draw at CCL defending champion Cruz Azul on Tuesday, was among those meriting selection.

Wanchope also said that decisions regarding those foreign-based players to play in the Copa Centroamericana will be forthcoming.

"I can say that one of the reasons I do not give the known list of (foreign-based) players for UNCAF is that we are in talks with clubs to try to convince them and appeal to their willingness to lend us players,” he commented.

Costa Rica will open defense of its Copa Centroamericana crown against Nicaragua on September 3 in Washington, D.C.

(Training camp: August 11-13, 2014)

GOALKEEPERS:  Danny Carvajal (Saprissa), Leonel Moreira (Herediano)

DEFENDERS:  Porfirio López (Alajuelense), Juan Diego Madrigal (Cartaginés), Dave Myrie (Herediano), Pablo Salazar (Herediano), Jameson Scott (Cartaginés), Michael Umaña (no club)

MIDFIELDERS:  Elias Aguilar (Herediano), Armando Alonso (Alajuelense), Juan Bustos Golobio (Saprissa), Johan Condega (Cartaginés), Oscar Esteban Granados (Herediano), David Guzmán (Saprissa), Pablo Herrera (Cartaginés), Manfred Russell (Saprissa), José Sánchez (Herediano)

FORWARDS:  Andrés Lezcano (Cartaginés), Jonathan Moya (Uruguay), David Ramírez (Saprissa), Johan Venegas (Alajuelense)