CCA: All-Time Final Results & Scorers

Costa Rica (pictured) celebrates after winning the 2013 Central American Cup final before its home supporters at the Estadio Nacional in San Jose. (Photo: Imagenes en Costa Rica)

LOS ANGELES – The 2014 Central American Cup (CCA) final will be contested between defending champion Costa Rica and Guatemala on Saturday at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. 

In the previous 12 editions of the competition, six champions have been decided through a championship match, while the other six were determined following a final-round group. 

Three single-game finals went to penalty kicks with Costa Rica involved in each of those encounters, coming out on top twice and falling once. 

This will mark the Ticos’ sixth straight appearance in the CCA’s curtain closer, two more than its nearest rival Honduras with fou 

Here’s a look at each of the CCA finals:    


December 10, 1995 (at San Salvador, El Salvador)

Honduras 3 (Milton Nunez 1’; Carlos Pavon 25’, 58’)

Guatemala 0 


February 27, 2005 (at Guatemala City, Guatemala

Costa Rica 1 (Wayne Wilson 68’)

Honduras 1 (Milton Nunez 58’)

Costa Rica champion 7-6 on penalty kicks 


February 18, 2007 (at San Salvador, El Salvador)

Costa Rica 1 (Kurt Bernard 85’)

Panama 1 (Luis Tejada 36’)

Costa Rica champion 4-1 on penalty kicks 


February 1, 2009 (at Tegucigalpa, Honduras)

Panama 0

Costa Rica 


January 23, 2011 (at Panama City, Panama)

Honduras 2 (Walter Martinez 8’; Emil Martinez 52’)

Costa Rica 1 (Marco Ureña 73’)                                                           


January 27, 2013 (at San Jose, Costa Rica)

Costa Rica 1 (Giancarlo Gonzalez 38’)

Honduras 0