Whitmore to guide Jamaica in Caribbean Cup

Theodore Whitmore (pictured) will handle managerial duties for Jamaica in the third round of the Caribbean Cup next month. (Photo: Leopoldo Smith Murillo/Straffon Images)

KINGSTON, Jamaica -- Theodore Whitmore has been put in charge of Jamaica ahead of its third-round matches in the 2016/17 Caribbean Cup, the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) announced.

The Reggae Boyz will face Group 1 rivals Suriname (October 5, home) and Guyana (October 11, away), with group winner earning a berth in the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Due to matters surrounding head coach Winfried Schafer’s status resulting from an incident with a Jamaican media outlet earlier this month, Whitmore will have a fourth stint as manager.

Under his previous leadership, Jamaica won the 2010 Caribbean Cup, making him the only individual to win the Caribbean Cup as a player and as a head coach. Whitmore also helped the Jamaicans reach the quarterfinals of the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The 44-year-old is best known for scoring two of Jamaica’s three goals at the 1998 FIFA World Cup, netting twice in a 2-1 win over Japan.

The JFF also unveiled a 20-man roster for the pair of encounters, but it does not include any of the European-based players featured heavily in a qualifying campaign for the 2018 FIFA World Cup that ended with a 2-0 loss at Panama on September 2.

The squad is highlighted by the inclusion of a U.S.-based trio competing in the 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League: forward Darren Mattocks (Portland Timbers), plus defenders Kemar Lawrence (New York Red Bulls) and Alvas Powell (Portland Timbers).


GOALKEEPERS: Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union), Ryan Thompson (St. Louis FC/USA)

DEFENDER: Shaun Francis (San Jose Earthquakes/USA), Rosario Harriott (Harbour View FC), Kemar Lawrence (New York Red Bulls/USA), Damion Lowe (Minnesota United/USA), Alvas Powell (Portland Timbers/USA), Ladale Ritchie (Montego Bay United), Dicoy Williams (Arnett Gardens FC)

MIDFIELDERS: Dwayne Ambursely (Montego Bay United), Michael Binns (Wilmington Hammerheads), Ewan Grandison (Portmore United, USA), Omar Holness (Real Salt Lake, USA), Andrew Vanzie (Humble Lion FC), Je-Vaughn Watson (New England Revolution, USA)

FORWARDS: Cory Burke (Bethlehem Steel/USA), Owayne Gordon (Indy Eleven/USA), Darren Mattocks (Portland Timbers/USA), Allan Ottey (Montego Bay United), Dino Williams (Montego Bay United)