T&T squad named for camp

Defender Maurice Forde (pictured) was one of four DirecTV W Connection players named on December 14, 2016, to a Trinidad & Tobago national team camp. (Photo: Mexsport)

PORT OF SPAIN.-  Trinidad & Tobago head coach Tom Saintfiet extended invitations to 28 players to be part of a training squad that have its first session together on Thursday night at Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The 43-year-old Belgian, who was named to the post last week, will subsequently select his roster for a pair of international friendlies at Nicaragua on December 27 and 30.

“It was a short period of time for me before I had to release a squad,” said Saintfiet. “It is naturally not easy if you have just arrived in the country as I prefer to have much more time to anaylzye and see the local leagues. I saw now most of the teams in the Pro League and also the Super League.

“The squad is made based on my style of play, but also on consultation with several people of the technical committee, local coaches and other local people involved in football here. In the future, we can also see players involved who were maybe not selected now because then I will follow up the league more and know more about the individual players and their qualities and I would have more knowledge of the players in the local league and abroad.”

The roster includes defender/midfielder Joevin Jones, who helped the Seattle Sounders capture the 2016 MLS Cup title on Saturday, as well as eight combined players from 2016/17 Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions League participants Central FC and DirecTV W Connection.

Early next year, T&T is also scheduled to host Suriname (January 4) and Haiti (January 8) in a three-team Caribbean playoff that will determine the region’s representative to face the fifth-place team from Central America for the last berth in the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup.


GOALKEEPERS: Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Marvin Phillip (Morvant Caledonia United), Glenroy Samuel (Ma Pau Stars), Jan Michael Williams (Central FC)

DEFENDERS: Radanfah Abu Bakr (Sillamae Kallen/Estonia), Sheldon Bateau (Krylia Sovetov Samara/Russia), Daneil Cyrus (DirecTV W Connection), Aubrey David (FC Dallas/USA), Carlos Edwards (Ma Pau Stars), Maurice Forde (DirecTV W Connection), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Triston Hodge (Toronto FC II/Canada), Carlyle Mitchell (Seoul E-Land FC/Korea Republic), Mekeil Williams (Colorado Rapids/USA)

MIDFIELDERS: Aikim Andrews (DirecTV W Connection), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes/USA), Sean de Silva (Central FC), Jomoul Francois (St Ann’s Rangers), Nathaniel Garcia (Central FC), Hughtun Hector (DirecTV W Connection), Alvin Jones (DirecTV W Connection), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders/USA), Kevin Molino (Orlando City/USA), Jomal Williams (Murcielagos/Mexico)

FORWARDS: Trevin Caesar (Orange County Blues/USA), Willis Plaza (San Juan Jabloteh), Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos/Mexico)