Suriname edges T&T in Caribbean Cup playoff opener

Suriname (pictured) celebrates after beating host Trinidad & Tobago in a Scotiabank CFU Men's Caribbean Cup fifth-place playoff match on January 4, 2017, in Couva. (Photo: CA-Images)

COUVA, Trinidad & Tobago – Ivanildo Rozenblad scored in extra time to lift Suriname to a 2-1 win over host Trinidad & Tobago in the opening match of the 2016/17 Scotiabank CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup fifth-place playoff on Wednesday night at Ato Boldon.

The Surinamese can advance to a CONCACAF Gold Cup playoff with the fifth-place side from this month’s Copa Centroamericana with a win over Haiti on Friday.

After a scoreless first half, Suriname took a 1-0 lead in the 76th minute, when defender Guno Kwasie was given space to launch a left-footed effort from 20-yards out that took a deflection off Trinidad’s Carlos Edwards before wrong-footing goalkeeper Adrian Foncette.

Tyrone Charles leveled six minutes later with a brilliant free, firing just under the crossbar with his right foot from 30-yards out.

As per Caribbean Cup rules, all games, if tied after 90 minutes, must go to extra time and then penalty kicks, if necessary.

Just when it looked like the encounter was heading to kicks from the spot, an early CONCACAF goal of the year candidate settled matters in the 119th minute.

Ivanildo Rozenblad launched an audacious 28-yard effort with his right foot that beat a diving Foncette and settled into the left side of the net.

2016/17 Scotiabank CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup – Fifth-Place Playoff (Match #1)

January 4, 2017: Ato Boldon Stadium – Couva, Trinidad & Tobago (Att: 1,700

Trinidad & Tobago-Suriname 1-2 aet (0-0)
Tyrone Charles 82’ / Guno Kwasie 76’; Ivanildo Rozenblad 110’

Trinidad & Tobago: 1.Adrian Foncette; Aubrey David, Hashim Arcia (Shahdon Winchester 61’), Radanfah Abu Bakr; Tyrone Charles (Curtis Gonzales 91’), Nathan Lewis (Aikim Andrews 70’), Akeem Roach (Andre Boucaud 78’), Carlos Edwards, Carlyle Mitchell, Hughtun Hector, Kevan George. Head Coach: Tom Saintfiet

Suriname: Claidel Kohinor; Gillermo Faerber, Gilberto Eind, Guno Kwasie, Mitchell Kisoor (Gillian Maatrijk 55’), Bruce Diporedjo (Silvion Sedney 107’), Roxey Fer (Galgyto Talea 84’), Dimitrie Apai, Sorencio Juliaans (Ivanildo Rozenblad 72’), Sergino Eduard, Miquel Darson. Head Coach: Robert Godeken

R: Kimbel Ward (St. Kitts & Nevis); AR1: Venton Mars (Guyana); AR2: Trevor Porter (Guyana); 4th: Ricangel De Leca (Aruba)