Host Jamaica unveils Caribbean Cup roster

Dane Richards (pictured) was the joint-top scorer at the 2010 Caribbean Cup finals and is included on Jamaica's roster for the 2014 edition. (Photo: Mexsport)

KINGSTON, Jamaica – Bidding to earn a place in the CONCACAF Gold Cup after missing out on the 2013 edition, host Jamaica announced Friday its 23-man roster for the final round of the 2014 Caribbean Football Union Caribbean Cup.

Head coach Winfried Schaefer’s squad consists of 18 foreign-based players, including defender Wes Morgan, who has started in all of Leicester City’s English Premier League games this season.

Also earning a call-up is 30-year-old forward Dane Richards, who shared the Golden Boot award with Grenada’s Kithson Bain in the final round of the 2010 Caribbean Cup on three goals each.

The Reggae Boyz open their campaign on Wednesday against Group B rival Martinique, before taking on Antigua & Barbuda (November 14) and Haiti (November 16).

The entire competition will be played at the Montego Bay Sports Complex from November 11-18, 2014.

(2014 CFU Caribbean Cup: November 11-18, 2014, in Montego Bay, Jamaica) 

GOALKEEPERS: Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union/USA), DuWayne Kerr (Sarpsborg 08/Norway),Ryan Thompson (Tampa Bay Rowdies/USA)

DEFENDERS: Nicholy Finlayson (Waterhouse FC), Hughan Gray (Waterhouse FC), Kemar Lawrence Harbour View FC), Wes Morgan (Leicester City/England), Nyron Nosworthy (Bristol City/England), Demar Phillips (Aalesund/Norway), Alvas Powell (Portland Timbers/USA), Jermaine Taylor (Houston Dynamo)

MIDFIELDERS: Rodolph Austin (Leeds United/England), Romario Campbell (Waterhouse FC), Simon Dawkins (Derby County/England), Joel Grant (Yeovil Town/England), Joel McAnuff (Leyton Orient/England), Je-Vaughn Watson (FC Dallas/USA),

FORWARDS: Deshorn Brown (Colorado Rapids/USA), Craig Foster (Reno FC), Jamar Loza (Norwich City/England), Darren Mattocks (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Dane Richards (FK Bodo/Glimt/Norway), Michael Seaton (D.C. United/USA)