Experience, youth for Haiti in Caribbean Cup

Duckens Nazon (blue jersey) has emerged as an offensive force for Haiti over the last two years. (Photo: Mexsport)

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti – In its bid to qualify for a third straight CONCACAF Gold Cup, Haiti will make use of a 24-man roster for upcoming 2016/17 Scotiabank CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup matches that combines experience with players from the recent Caribbean under-20 qualifying tournament-winning squad.

Head coach Patrice Neveu called up veterans such as midfielder Kevin Lafrance and Kervens Belfort, while also extending invitations to the attacking U20 trio of Ronaldo Damus, Jonel Desire and Roberto Louima, who was the Golden Ball winner at Caribbean under-20 event in Curacao last month. 

The inclusion of key forward Duckens Nazon, who joined India’s Kerala Blasters two months ago, is expected to provide a boost. The 22-year-old scored both of Haiti’s goals in the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup and struck for a team-best three goals in qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup. 

In Caribbean Cup, third-round play, Haiti will host Group 2 leader French Guiana (1W-0D-0L, 3 points) on November 9 and then take on host St. Kitts & Nevis (0-0-1, 0). The matches were originally scheduled to be played last month, but were postponed due to reasons related to Hurricane Matthew. 

If the Haitians win both games, in addition to earning a 2017 Gold Cup berth, they will also advance to Caribbean Cup semifinals.

Haiti’s best-ever Caribbean Cup finish came in 2007, when it lifted the trophy after posting a 2-1 victory over host Trinidad & Tobago in the final.



GOALKEEPERS: Steward Ceus (Minnesota United/USA), Luis Valendi Odelus (Aigle Noir), Johnny Placide (no club)

DEFENDERS: Ricardo Ade (Don Bosco FC), Carlens Arcus (Lille/France), Alex Christian (AD Camacha/Portugal), Romain Genevois (Caen/France). Reginal Goreux (Standard Liege/Belgium), Mechak Jerome (Jacksonville Armada), Paulson Pierre (Balimore SC)

MIDFIELDERS: Herold Charles (Cibao FC/Dominican Republic), Junior Delva (Don Bosco FC), Max Hilaire (GS Consolat Marseille/France), Kevin Lafrance (AEL/Cyprus), Sony Norde (Mumbai City/India), Sebastien Thuriere (Sheikh Russel KC/Bangladesh), Fabien Vorbe (Willy Cerrato/Peru)

FORWARDS: Kervens Belfort (Kerala Blasters (India), Ronaldo Damus (Real Hope), Jonel Desire (AS Capoise), Derrick Etienne (New York Red Bulls/USA), Wilde-Donald Guerrier (Alyanaspor), Roberto Louima (Real Hope), Duckens Nazon (Kerala Blasters/India)