Caribbean Cup Preview: Suriname

(I-r) Suriname's Galgyto Talea, Mitchell Kisoor and Ivanildo Rozenblad pose for a photo after a Caribbean Cup win over host Guyana on October 8, 2016, in Leonora.

COUVA, Trinidad & Tobago – Suriname’s bid for a first-ever CONCACAF Gold Cup appearance continues on Wednesday as it takes on host Trinidad & Tobago in the first match of the 2016/17 Scotiabank CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup fifth-place playoff at Ato Boldon Stadium. takes a look at a side hoping to make a statement on a larger international stage.


Head Coach: Roberto Godeken
2016/17 Caribbean Cup Record: W-3; D-1; L-2; GF-8; GA-7
Goalscorers: Mitchell Kisoor (3); Stefano Rijssel (2); Ivanildo Rozenblad, Galgyto Talea, Melvin Talies (1)
CONCACAF Gold Cup Appearances: 0


FIRST ROUND: GROUP 6 (1st place)
March 23, 2016: Stade Rene Serge Nabajoth – Les Abymes, Guadeloupe
Guadeloupe-Suriname 0-0 (0-0) (3:2 pens)

March 29, 2016: Andre Kamperveen Stadion – Paramaribo, Suriname
Suriname-Guadeloupe 3-2 (3-2)
Stefano Rijssel 30’, 36’; Mitchell Kisoor 41’ / Claudio Beauvue 15’; Livio Nabab 32’

SECOND ROUND: GROUP 5 (2nd place)
June 1, 2016: Warner Park -- Basseterre, St. Kitts & Nevis
St. Kitts & Nevis-Suriname 1-0 (0-0)
Harrison Panayiotou 30’

June 4, 2016: Andre Kamperveen Stadion – Paramaribo, Suriname
Suriname-St. Vincent & the Grenadines 2-1 (0-0)
Mitchell Kisoor 85’; Melvin Valies 90’+4 / Myron Samuel 71’

THIRD ROUND: GROUP 1 (2nd place)
October 8, 2016: Andre Kamperveen Stadion – Paramaribo, Suriname
Suriname-Guyana 3-2 aet (0-1)
Mitchell Kisoor 58’; Galgyto Talea 103’; Ivanildo Rozenblad 110’ / Marcel Barrington 4’; Kai McKenzie-Lyle 120’

November 13, 2016: National Stadium – Kingston, Jamaica
Jamaica-Suriname 1-0 (1-0)
Cory Burke 16’


GOALKEEPERS: Claidel Kohinor (Robin Hood); Sersinio Profijt (Leo Victor)

DEFENDERS: Saverio Adenie (Robin Hood), Andwele Baja (Robin Hood), Miquel Darson(Inter Moengo Tapoe), Gilberto Eind (Robin Hood), Gillermo Faerber (Nishan 42), Guno Kwasie (Walking Boys Company)

MIDFIELDERS: Bruce Diporedjo (Walking Boys Company), Sergino Eduard (Inter Moengo Tapoe), Sorencio Juliaans (Transvaal), Mitchell Kisoor (Robin Hood), Gillian Maatrijk (Walking Boys Company), Ivanildo Rozenblad (Robin Hood), Silvion Sedney (Leo Victor), Galgyto Talea (Inter Moengo Tapoe)

FORWARDS: Dimitrie Apai (DirecTV W Connection/Trinidad & Tobago), Roxey Fer (Robin Hood)