Toronto FC’s Vanney named CONCACAF Men’s Football Coach of the Year
Greg Vanney (pictured) was named Toronto FC head coach in August 2014. (Photo: isiphotos)

MIAMI – Toronto FC head coach Greg Vanney was named CONCACAF Men’s Football Coach of the Year on Tuesday, after guiding the Canadian side to a historic 2017.

Under Vanney’s guidance, Toronto captured the Canadian Championship, the MLS Supporters’ Shield as the team with best regular-season record and the MLS Cup title.

TFC set the MLS record for most regular-season points (69) and equaled the 2014 Seattle Sounders for most wins in a single season (20).

Greg Vanney | 2017 CONCACAF Men's Football Coach of the Year

The 43-year-old Vanney, a former United States international, is the first club coach to be honored in the award’s five-year history.

In an equally-weighted vote among Member Association women’s and men’s national team coaches/captains, media and fans, Panama head coach Hernan Dario and Mexico manager Juan Carlos Osorio finished second and third, respectively.

CONCACAF Men’s Football Coach of the Year
List of Winners

2013: Jurgen Klinsmann (USA)
2014: Jorge Luis Pinto (Costa Rica)
2015: Hernan Dario Gomez (Panama)
2016: Oscar Ramirez (Costa Rica)
2017: Greg Vanney (Toronto FC/Canada)