Shortlists Announced for Fifth-Annual CONCACAF Awards

Top performers from across the Confederation to be honored; web voting in fan and media categories underway

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced today the shortlists and the opening of fan and media voting for the fifth-annual CONCACAF Awards, to honor the year’s standout performers and achievements from across Confederation events.

The awards, which began in 2013 and will be presented for the fifth time, recognize the top players, coaches and referees in women’s and men’s events from the CONCACAF region.

Each of the award categories considers achievements per specific criteria, in CONCACAF-sanctioned tournaments and competitions involving the Confederation’s national teams at all levels, including FIFA World Cups and World Cup Qualifying for both genders, in all age categories. Performances also eligible for recognition include those achieved in professional club football leagues in the CONCACAF region, as well as the CONCACAF Champions League and the CONCACAF League.

Players, coaches and referees of any nationality are eligible to be nominated, so long as they meet at least one of the following criteria:

  1. Have played/coached/refereed in an official CONCACAF tournament at club or national level OR
  2. Have played/coached/refereed for a CONCACAF member national team in FIFA sanctioned international competition OR
  3. Have played/coached/refereed in a domestic league within CONCACAF’s territory

A player/coach/referee from the CONCACAF region, who does not meet the above criteria (i.e. a player whose only performances in the past year came in a European or Asian league etc.), would not be eligible.

Goal of the Year applies only to goals scored by a player fulfilling the above nomination requirements during CONCACAF or FIFA official competition or a League game disputed within the CONCACAF region.

Voters should base their judgments solely on performances in the above categorized competitions from January 1, 2017 until now.

This year’s award categories are:

  • Player of the Year: Male and Female
  • Goal of the Year: Male or Female (top 10 goals male and female mix)
  • Men’s Football Coach of the Year: Male or Female
  • Women’s Football Coach of the Year: Male or Female
  • Goalkeeper of the Year: Male and Female
  • Referee of the Year: Male and Female
  • Best XI: Male and Female

In each category, a list of nominees has already been determined through a statistical assessment and the nominations of the CONCACAF Technical Study Group, which analyzes tactics and rates performances at all official CONCACAF tournaments, and the Member Association National Team Head Coaches and Senior National Team Captains.
In addition to the categories above, CONCACAF will also recognize any individual, such as player, coach referee, or an other individual or group of individuals belonging to CONCACAF, such as club, Member Association, National Team with the Outstanding Performance Award (non-gender related). The Outstanding Performance Award will be excluded from the Nomination and Voting Processes, and will be selected by CONCACAF.

The lists have now been submitted for final voting among three important stake-holding segments of the Confederation: Member Association National Team Head Coaches and Senior National Team Captains, members of the media and fans. The national team coaches and captains from across the Confederation will account for one third of the final vote, and members of CONCACAF’s media circle will contribute another third of the tally. Fans from around the region and the world are invited to vote online for the final one-third segment of the vote.

Fans can have their say by visiting the fan voting page on, available here ( Media will be able cast their ballot via the dedicated link to be sent separately to media members on CONCACAF’s distribution list.

Voting is open for Male and Female Players of the Year through 11:59 ET, Thursday, December 7, 2017. For all other categories, voting is open until 11:59 ET, Wednesday, December 13, 2017.

Final votes in each of the 11 categories will be tallied and the winners announced via The Male and Female CONCACAF Player of the Year Awards will also be presented live at the fourth edition of the Premios Univision Deportes, on Sunday, December 17 at 8:00 pm ET.