Panama earns CONCACAF Outstanding Performance Award
Panama players (left) rush to celebrate after a win over visiting Costa Rica to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup on October 10, 2017, in Panama City, Panama. (Photo: Israel Zapateiro)

MIAMI – On the strength of earning its first-ever FIFA World Cup berth, the Panama men’s national team was named Tuesday winner of the 2017 CONCACAF Outstanding Performance Award.

Led by head coach Hernan Dario Gomez, the Canaleros finished third in the final round of CONCACAF qualifying for Russia 2018, compiling a 3W-4D-3L record.  The campaign was highlighted by a 2-1 win over second-place visitor Costa Rica on the last day of play, as defender Roman Torres struck dramtically for the game-winning goal with two minutes remaining in normal time.

In 12 of Panama’s 16 total qualifiers, it conceded one goal or fewer.

Panama | 2017 CONCACAF Outstanding Performance Award

Panama will become the 11th CONCACAF nation to compete in the World Cup, when the whistles blows to open its encounter against Belgium on June 18, 2018.

CONCACAF Outstanding Performance Award
List of Winners

2013: not awarded
2014: not awarded
2015: not awarded
2016: Canada Women’s National Team & head coach John Herdman
2017: Panama men’s national team